
To request a claim form:
Victims Compensation

Assistance Program
Office of Victims’ Services
Pennsylvania Commission
on Crime and Delinquency

P.O. Box 1167
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

17108-1167

Toll Free (800) 233-2339
or 

(717) 783-5153
Fax (717) 787-4306

www.pccd.state.pa.us

What other services
are available?

The crime occurred in Pennsylvania OR
to a Pennsylvania resident who was
injured or killed in a foreign country or
by an act of international terrorism.

The crime was reported to the proper
authorities or a Protection from Abuse
Order was filed within 72 hours unless
good cause is shown, or the victim is a
minor and meets specific criteria.
The victim has cooperated with law
enforcement, the courts, and the
Victims Compensation Assistance
Program.

The claim is filed within two years after
the crime.  There are exceptions when
the victim is a child.

The victim/claimant may be ineligible
if the victim was engaged in illegal
activity that caused the crime.

The minimum loss requirement of $100 
of any combination of eligible benefits
is met. If the victim is age 60 or over,
no minimum loss is required.

The victim/claimant
may be eligible if.... Compensation
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The Direct Victim Services Unit is
available to support local advocates
with onsite compensation assistance in
incidents of mass violence including:
crisis intervention, emotional support,
assistance in completing a
compensation form, and providing
referrals.  For help with answering
questions concerning eligibility or
additional services provided by the
Unit, contact the Victims Compensation
Assistance Program. 

If Social Security, pension/retirement,
disability or court-ordered child/spousal
support is the victim’s main source of
income, and cash has been stolen or
taken through fraud, he/she may be
compensated, within certain limits. 

Medical, dental and other expenses related
to the injury. 

Avictim/claimant who is unable to
work due to a physical or emotional
disability related to a crime may be 
eligible for compensation. 
The following individuals may also be 
eligible for loss of earnings:
-a family member who provides home
health care or replacement services
-persons who meet specific criteria
related to homicide crimes 

Loss of Support
Payments may be made for financial
dependents of a homicide victim.  

Stolen Benefit Cash

Funeral Expenses
The person who pays or assumes
responsibility to pay the funeral bill for
a deceased victim, may be compensated
for those expenses, within 
certain limits.

Relocation Expenses
Temporary or permanent relocation
expenses may be covered for the victim
and individuals residing in their house-
hold when it is required for the imme-
diate protection of their safety and
health.  Amedical provider, law
enforcement, or human service provider
must verify the victim’s need to 
relocate. 

If the victim/claimant paid for the costs
of cleaning the crime scene of a 
personal living space, compensation
may be awarded. Crime-scene cleanup
includes the removal of blood or bodily
fluid caused by the crime or other dirt
or debris caused by processing the
crime-scene. 

Medical Expenses

Amaximum award of $35,000 may
be paid with limits on specific 
benefits.  The award may exceed
$35,000 in certain circumstances.

Available Benefits Include:

What expenses may be paid?

This includes:
- physical therapy
- medications
- ambulance 
- home health care
- replacement services
- childcare
- medical equipment/supplies
- transportation costs to medical and 

counseling appointments, or 
pharmacy visits

Victims of crime may be reimbursed for
counseling expenses related to the crime
incident. Individuals eligible for 
counseling include:
- the direct victim
- specific relatives of the direct victim
- person residing with the direct victim
- person engaged to the direct victim
- person who witnesses a violent crime
- person who discovers homicide victim
- person responsible for the direct 

victims welfare

The Victims Compensation Assistance
Program is committed to helping 
victims and their families ease the
financial burden crime imposes upon
them. This brochure provides
information on the benefits available,
and the rights of victims.  This
brochure is not the final authority on
the law, nor does it create additional
rights or entitlements not found in law.   

Counseling

Loss of Earnings

Crime-Scene Cleanup
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Basic Bill of Rights for Victims

Payment will be reduced by the amount of any
other source. They include but are not limited to:
health or life insurance, awards from civil lawsuits
or insurance, Medical Assistance, Medicare,
disability insurance, Workers’ Compensation, or
Social Security.
Must there be an arrest or conviction of the
assailant before compensation will be paid?

How will the claim be considered?

How is the program funded?

What if the expenses can be paid by another source?

What is meant by other source?What expenses are not covered? What is an emergency award?

No. It is not necessary for the alleged offender to
be prosecuted for a claim to be filed.  However, the
victim/claimant must cooperate with law
enforcement authorities in the investigation and
prosecution of the offender if one is known.

Passed by the Pennsylvania Legislature in 1976,
the Pennsylvania Crime Victims Act created a fund
and established eligibility guidelines for providing
certain benefits to crime victims.  This fund
consists of fines and penalties assessed against
persons convicted of crimes.  No general tax
revenues of the state are used, therefore, persons
convicted of crime support a program to benefit
their victims.

After all of the information contained in the
application is verified the victim/claimant will be
notified if he/she is eligible for compensation.  The
time that it takes to arrive at this decision varies
considerably, depending upon the complexity of
the claim.  The victim/claimant will be mailed a
copy of the decision. If the claim is denied, the
reason will be explained to the victim/claimant,
along with the appeal procedure.

In special circumstances an emergency award of
up to $1,500 may be considered. 

Questions regarding Victims Compensation?

Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency  3101 N. Front Street, Harrisburg, PA 17110

The fund will not reimburse victims for: 
-Pain and suffering
-Stolen or damaged property except loss of 
medical devices as a result of the crime. 

Victims of crime have the following rights:

For further information on additional victims’ rights, please contact either the district attorney in your 
jurisdiction or the PCCD’s Victims’ Services Program at  1-800-692-7292.
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To be notified of certain significant actions and
proceedings within the criminal and juvenile 
justice systems pertaining to their case.  This
includes all of the following:

- Access to information regarding whether the
juvenile was detained or released following arrest
and whether a petition alleging delinquency has
been filed. 

- Immediate notification of a juvenile’s 
preadjudication escape from a detention center or
shelter facility and of the juvenile’s subsequent
apprehension.

- Access to information regarding the grant or
denial of bail to an adult.

To be accompanied at all criminal and all juvenile
proceedings by a family member, a victim 
advocate or other person providing assistance or
support. 

In cases involving a personal injury crime or 
burglary, to submit prior comment to the 
prosecutor’s office or juvenile probation office, as
appropriate to the circumstances of the case, on
the potential reduction or dropping of any charge
or changing of a plea in a criminal or delinquency
proceeding or diversion of any case, including an
informal adjustment or consent decree.

To have the opportunity to offer prior comment on
the sentencing of a defendant or the disposition of
a delinquent child, to include the submission of a
written and oral victim impact statement detailing
the physical, psychological and economic effects
of the crime on the victim and the victim’s family.
The written statement shall be included in any
predisposition or presentence report submitted to
the court.  Victim impact statements shall be 
considered by a court when determining the 
disposition of a juvenile or sentence of an adult.

To receive basic information concerning the
services available for victims of crime.

- Immediate notification of an adult offender’s
pretrial escape from a local correctional facility
and of the offender’s subsequent apprehension.

Upon request of the victim of a personal injury
crime, to have the opportunity to submit written 
comment or present oral testimony at a disposition
review hearing, which comment or testimony shall
be considered by the court when reviewing the 
disposition of the juvenile.

To be restored, to the extent possible, to the
precrime economic status through the provision of
restitution, compensation and the expeditious return
of property which is seized as evidence in the case
when in the judgement of the prosecutor the 
evidence is no longer needed for prosecution of the
case. 

In personal injury crimes where the adult is 
sentenced to a State correctional facility, to be:

- Given the opportunity to provide prior comment
on and to receive State postsentencing release 
decisions, including work release, furlough, parole,
pardon or community treatment center placement.

- Provided immediate notice of an escape of the
adult and of subsequent apprehension.

- Given the opportunity to receive notice of and to
provide prior comment on a recommendation sought
by the Department of Corrections that the offender 
participate in a motivational boot camp.

In personal injury crimes where the adult is 
sentenced to a local correctional facility to:

- Receive notice of the date of the release of the
adult, including work release, furlough, parole,
release from boot camp or community treatment 
center placement; and

- Be provided with immediate notice of an escape
of the adult and of subsequent apprehension.

To have notice and to provide prior comment on
a judicial recommendation that the defendant 
participate in a motivational boot camp.

If, upon the request of the victim of a personal injury
crime committed by a juvenile, the juvenile is ordered
to residential placement, a shelter facility or a 
detention center, to:

- Receive prior notice of the date of the release of
the juvenile, including temporary leave or home
pass.

- Be provided with immediate notice of an
escape of the juvenile, including failure to return from
temporary leave or home pass; and immediate
notice of reapprehension of the juvenile. 

- Be provided with notice of transfer of a juvenile
who has been adjudicated delinquent from a 
placement facility that is contrary to a previous court
order or placement plan approved at a disposition
review hearing and to have the opportunity to
express a written objection prior to the release or
transfer of the juvenile. 

To receive immediate notice of the release of an
adult on bail, if the adult is subject to a protection
from abuse order and is committed to a local 
correctional facility for a violation of the order, or for a
personal injury crime against a victim protected by
the order.

To receive notice if an adult is committed to a mental
health facility from a State correctional institution and
notice of the discharge, transfer or escape of the
adult from the mental health facility. 

To have assistance in the preparation of, submission
of and follow-up on crime victim compensation
claims to the Office of Victims’ Services.

To be notified of the details of the final disposition of
the case of a juvenile.

Upon the request of the victim of a personal injury
crime, to be notified of the termination of the courts’
jurisdiction.

Yes. These are limited to DUI, Aggravated Assault
while DUI, Homicide by Vehicle while DUI, Hit and
Run, and Homicide by Vehicle and acts that would
constitute a crime under the Crimes Code, such as
reckless endangerment.

Are Motor Vehicle/Watercraft Crimes eligible for
compensation?

Victims
Compensation

1-800-233-2339
The Crime Victims Compensation Fund is regarded
as “the payer of last resort.” Other sources must be
utilized before payment can be considered.

To be present at trials, including murder trials, and
the right not to be excluded from the trial if the victim
will be providing input at sentencing.

To be present at executions providing the victim
has registered with and been selected by the
Victim Advocate, Office of the Victim Advocate. 

Additional Statutory Rights
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while DUI, Homicide by Vehicle while DUI, Hit and
Run, and Homicide by Vehicle and acts that would
constitute a crime under the Crimes Code, such as
reckless endangerment.

Are Motor Vehicle/Watercraft Crimes eligible for
compensation?

Victims
Compensation

1-800-233-2339
The Crime Victims Compensation Fund is regarded
as “the payer of last resort.” Other sources must be
utilized before payment can be considered.

To be present at trials, including murder trials, and
the right not to be excluded from the trial if the victim
will be providing input at sentencing.

To be present at executions providing the victim
has registered with and been selected by the
Victim Advocate, Office of the Victim Advocate. 

Additional Statutory Rights
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Basic Bill of Rights for Victims

Payment will be reduced by the amount of any
other source. They include but are not limited to:
health or life insurance, awards from civil lawsuits
or insurance, Medical Assistance, Medicare,
disability insurance, Workers’ Compensation, or
Social Security.
Must there be an arrest or conviction of the
assailant before compensation will be paid?

How will the claim be considered?

How is the program funded?

What if the expenses can be paid by another source?

What is meant by other source?What expenses are not covered? What is an emergency award?

No. It is not necessary for the alleged offender to
be prosecuted for a claim to be filed.  However, the
victim/claimant must cooperate with law
enforcement authorities in the investigation and
prosecution of the offender if one is known.

Passed by the Pennsylvania Legislature in 1976,
the Pennsylvania Crime Victims Act created a fund
and established eligibility guidelines for providing
certain benefits to crime victims.  This fund
consists of fines and penalties assessed against
persons convicted of crimes.  No general tax
revenues of the state are used, therefore, persons
convicted of crime support a program to benefit
their victims.

After all of the information contained in the
application is verified the victim/claimant will be
notified if he/she is eligible for compensation.  The
time that it takes to arrive at this decision varies
considerably, depending upon the complexity of
the claim.  The victim/claimant will be mailed a
copy of the decision. If the claim is denied, the
reason will be explained to the victim/claimant,
along with the appeal procedure.

In special circumstances an emergency award of
up to $1,500 may be considered. 

Questions regarding Victims Compensation?

Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency  3101 N. Front Street, Harrisburg, PA 17110

The fund will not reimburse victims for: 
-Pain and suffering
-Stolen or damaged property except loss of 
medical devices as a result of the crime. 

Victims of crime have the following rights:

For further information on additional victims’ rights, please contact either the district attorney in your 
jurisdiction or the PCCD’s Victims’ Services Program at  1-800-692-7292.

06/03 qxd

To be notified of certain significant actions and
proceedings within the criminal and juvenile 
justice systems pertaining to their case.  This
includes all of the following:

- Access to information regarding whether the
juvenile was detained or released following arrest
and whether a petition alleging delinquency has
been filed. 

- Immediate notification of a juvenile’s 
preadjudication escape from a detention center or
shelter facility and of the juvenile’s subsequent
apprehension.

- Access to information regarding the grant or
denial of bail to an adult.

To be accompanied at all criminal and all juvenile
proceedings by a family member, a victim 
advocate or other person providing assistance or
support. 

In cases involving a personal injury crime or 
burglary, to submit prior comment to the 
prosecutor’s office or juvenile probation office, as
appropriate to the circumstances of the case, on
the potential reduction or dropping of any charge
or changing of a plea in a criminal or delinquency
proceeding or diversion of any case, including an
informal adjustment or consent decree.

To have the opportunity to offer prior comment on
the sentencing of a defendant or the disposition of
a delinquent child, to include the submission of a
written and oral victim impact statement detailing
the physical, psychological and economic effects
of the crime on the victim and the victim’s family.
The written statement shall be included in any
predisposition or presentence report submitted to
the court.  Victim impact statements shall be 
considered by a court when determining the 
disposition of a juvenile or sentence of an adult.

To receive basic information concerning the
services available for victims of crime.

- Immediate notification of an adult offender’s
pretrial escape from a local correctional facility
and of the offender’s subsequent apprehension.

Upon request of the victim of a personal injury
crime, to have the opportunity to submit written 
comment or present oral testimony at a disposition
review hearing, which comment or testimony shall
be considered by the court when reviewing the 
disposition of the juvenile.

To be restored, to the extent possible, to the
precrime economic status through the provision of
restitution, compensation and the expeditious return
of property which is seized as evidence in the case
when in the judgement of the prosecutor the 
evidence is no longer needed for prosecution of the
case. 

In personal injury crimes where the adult is 
sentenced to a State correctional facility, to be:

- Given the opportunity to provide prior comment
on and to receive State postsentencing release 
decisions, including work release, furlough, parole,
pardon or community treatment center placement.

- Provided immediate notice of an escape of the
adult and of subsequent apprehension.

- Given the opportunity to receive notice of and to
provide prior comment on a recommendation sought
by the Department of Corrections that the offender 
participate in a motivational boot camp.

In personal injury crimes where the adult is 
sentenced to a local correctional facility to:

- Receive notice of the date of the release of the
adult, including work release, furlough, parole,
release from boot camp or community treatment 
center placement; and

- Be provided with immediate notice of an escape
of the adult and of subsequent apprehension.

To have notice and to provide prior comment on
a judicial recommendation that the defendant 
participate in a motivational boot camp.

If, upon the request of the victim of a personal injury
crime committed by a juvenile, the juvenile is ordered
to residential placement, a shelter facility or a 
detention center, to:

- Receive prior notice of the date of the release of
the juvenile, including temporary leave or home
pass.

- Be provided with immediate notice of an
escape of the juvenile, including failure to return from
temporary leave or home pass; and immediate
notice of reapprehension of the juvenile. 

- Be provided with notice of transfer of a juvenile
who has been adjudicated delinquent from a 
placement facility that is contrary to a previous court
order or placement plan approved at a disposition
review hearing and to have the opportunity to
express a written objection prior to the release or
transfer of the juvenile. 

To receive immediate notice of the release of an
adult on bail, if the adult is subject to a protection
from abuse order and is committed to a local 
correctional facility for a violation of the order, or for a
personal injury crime against a victim protected by
the order.

To receive notice if an adult is committed to a mental
health facility from a State correctional institution and
notice of the discharge, transfer or escape of the
adult from the mental health facility. 

To have assistance in the preparation of, submission
of and follow-up on crime victim compensation
claims to the Office of Victims’ Services.

To be notified of the details of the final disposition of
the case of a juvenile.

Upon the request of the victim of a personal injury
crime, to be notified of the termination of the courts’
jurisdiction.

Yes. These are limited to DUI, Aggravated Assault
while DUI, Homicide by Vehicle while DUI, Hit and
Run, and Homicide by Vehicle and acts that would
constitute a crime under the Crimes Code, such as
reckless endangerment.

Are Motor Vehicle/Watercraft Crimes eligible for
compensation?

Victims
Compensation

1-800-233-2339
The Crime Victims Compensation Fund is regarded
as “the payer of last resort.” Other sources must be
utilized before payment can be considered.

To be present at trials, including murder trials, and
the right not to be excluded from the trial if the victim
will be providing input at sentencing.

To be present at executions providing the victim
has registered with and been selected by the
Victim Advocate, Office of the Victim Advocate. 

Additional Statutory Rights
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Basic Bill of Rights for Victims

Payment will be reduced by the amount of any
other source. They include but are not limited to:
health or life insurance, awards from civil lawsuits
or insurance, Medical Assistance, Medicare,
disability insurance, Workers’ Compensation, or
Social Security.
Must there be an arrest or conviction of the
assailant before compensation will be paid?

How will the claim be considered?

How is the program funded?

What if the expenses can be paid by another source?

What is meant by other source?What expenses are not covered? What is an emergency award?

No. It is not necessary for the alleged offender to
be prosecuted for a claim to be filed.  However, the
victim/claimant must cooperate with law
enforcement authorities in the investigation and
prosecution of the offender if one is known.

Passed by the Pennsylvania Legislature in 1976,
the Pennsylvania Crime Victims Act created a fund
and established eligibility guidelines for providing
certain benefits to crime victims.  This fund
consists of fines and penalties assessed against
persons convicted of crimes.  No general tax
revenues of the state are used, therefore, persons
convicted of crime support a program to benefit
their victims.

After all of the information contained in the
application is verified the victim/claimant will be
notified if he/she is eligible for compensation.  The
time that it takes to arrive at this decision varies
considerably, depending upon the complexity of
the claim.  The victim/claimant will be mailed a
copy of the decision. If the claim is denied, the
reason will be explained to the victim/claimant,
along with the appeal procedure.

In special circumstances an emergency award of
up to $1,500 may be considered. 

Questions regarding Victims Compensation?

Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency  3101 N. Front Street, Harrisburg, PA 17110

The fund will not reimburse victims for: 
-Pain and suffering
-Stolen or damaged property except loss of 
medical devices as a result of the crime. 

Victims of crime have the following rights:

For further information on additional victims’ rights, please contact either the district attorney in your 
jurisdiction or the PCCD’s Victims’ Services Program at  1-800-692-7292.

06/03 qxd

To be notified of certain significant actions and
proceedings within the criminal and juvenile 
justice systems pertaining to their case.  This
includes all of the following:

- Access to information regarding whether the
juvenile was detained or released following arrest
and whether a petition alleging delinquency has
been filed. 

- Immediate notification of a juvenile’s 
preadjudication escape from a detention center or
shelter facility and of the juvenile’s subsequent
apprehension.

- Access to information regarding the grant or
denial of bail to an adult.

To be accompanied at all criminal and all juvenile
proceedings by a family member, a victim 
advocate or other person providing assistance or
support. 

In cases involving a personal injury crime or 
burglary, to submit prior comment to the 
prosecutor’s office or juvenile probation office, as
appropriate to the circumstances of the case, on
the potential reduction or dropping of any charge
or changing of a plea in a criminal or delinquency
proceeding or diversion of any case, including an
informal adjustment or consent decree.

To have the opportunity to offer prior comment on
the sentencing of a defendant or the disposition of
a delinquent child, to include the submission of a
written and oral victim impact statement detailing
the physical, psychological and economic effects
of the crime on the victim and the victim’s family.
The written statement shall be included in any
predisposition or presentence report submitted to
the court.  Victim impact statements shall be 
considered by a court when determining the 
disposition of a juvenile or sentence of an adult.

To receive basic information concerning the
services available for victims of crime.

- Immediate notification of an adult offender’s
pretrial escape from a local correctional facility
and of the offender’s subsequent apprehension.

Upon request of the victim of a personal injury
crime, to have the opportunity to submit written 
comment or present oral testimony at a disposition
review hearing, which comment or testimony shall
be considered by the court when reviewing the 
disposition of the juvenile.

To be restored, to the extent possible, to the
precrime economic status through the provision of
restitution, compensation and the expeditious return
of property which is seized as evidence in the case
when in the judgement of the prosecutor the 
evidence is no longer needed for prosecution of the
case. 

In personal injury crimes where the adult is 
sentenced to a State correctional facility, to be:

- Given the opportunity to provide prior comment
on and to receive State postsentencing release 
decisions, including work release, furlough, parole,
pardon or community treatment center placement.

- Provided immediate notice of an escape of the
adult and of subsequent apprehension.

- Given the opportunity to receive notice of and to
provide prior comment on a recommendation sought
by the Department of Corrections that the offender 
participate in a motivational boot camp.

In personal injury crimes where the adult is 
sentenced to a local correctional facility to:

- Receive notice of the date of the release of the
adult, including work release, furlough, parole,
release from boot camp or community treatment 
center placement; and

- Be provided with immediate notice of an escape
of the adult and of subsequent apprehension.

To have notice and to provide prior comment on
a judicial recommendation that the defendant 
participate in a motivational boot camp.

If, upon the request of the victim of a personal injury
crime committed by a juvenile, the juvenile is ordered
to residential placement, a shelter facility or a 
detention center, to:

- Receive prior notice of the date of the release of
the juvenile, including temporary leave or home
pass.

- Be provided with immediate notice of an
escape of the juvenile, including failure to return from
temporary leave or home pass; and immediate
notice of reapprehension of the juvenile. 

- Be provided with notice of transfer of a juvenile
who has been adjudicated delinquent from a 
placement facility that is contrary to a previous court
order or placement plan approved at a disposition
review hearing and to have the opportunity to
express a written objection prior to the release or
transfer of the juvenile. 

To receive immediate notice of the release of an
adult on bail, if the adult is subject to a protection
from abuse order and is committed to a local 
correctional facility for a violation of the order, or for a
personal injury crime against a victim protected by
the order.

To receive notice if an adult is committed to a mental
health facility from a State correctional institution and
notice of the discharge, transfer or escape of the
adult from the mental health facility. 

To have assistance in the preparation of, submission
of and follow-up on crime victim compensation
claims to the Office of Victims’ Services.

To be notified of the details of the final disposition of
the case of a juvenile.

Upon the request of the victim of a personal injury
crime, to be notified of the termination of the courts’
jurisdiction.

Yes. These are limited to DUI, Aggravated Assault
while DUI, Homicide by Vehicle while DUI, Hit and
Run, and Homicide by Vehicle and acts that would
constitute a crime under the Crimes Code, such as
reckless endangerment.

Are Motor Vehicle/Watercraft Crimes eligible for
compensation?

Victims
Compensation

1-800-233-2339
The Crime Victims Compensation Fund is regarded
as “the payer of last resort.” Other sources must be
utilized before payment can be considered.

To be present at trials, including murder trials, and
the right not to be excluded from the trial if the victim
will be providing input at sentencing.

To be present at executions providing the victim
has registered with and been selected by the
Victim Advocate, Office of the Victim Advocate. 

Additional Statutory Rights
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Questions regarding Victims Compensation?

  Victims of crime have the following rights:


