
 

Background 

On December 20, 2012, Pennsylvania’s Megan’s Law will 
undergo major changes. Individuals who have not 
completed their period of registration by December 20, 
2012 must comply with the new law or face criminal 
prosecution and lengthy prison sentences.  

Under the new law, referred to as SORNA (short for “Sex 
Offender Registration and Notification Act”), registrants will 
be placed in one of three “Tiers” based on their underlying 
offenses.  

 

Implementation 

Prior to December 20, 2012, all registrants will be 
contacted by their supervising authority–typically their 
parole or probation officer or the Pennsylvania State 
Police–informing them of their Tier classification and either 
collecting the new, expanded information required under 
SORNA or informing them of their duty to appear at an 
approved registration site to provide this information. 
Failure to comply is a felony.  

 

This pamphlet 

This pamphlet describes the Tier system, information 
collected, items appearing on the public web site, and 
other duties required under the new law. It is intended for 
individuals who are on the registry prior to December 20, 
2012 and are subject to the new law. 

 

If you have any questions, contact your attorney 
or the Megan’s Law Section of the 

Pennsylvania State Police at 1-866-771-3170 

 

The Tier System 

As of December 20, 2012 individuals subject to registration 
will be placed in one of three Tiers based on their underly-
ing offenses. 

Tier I. Registration is for 15 years. In-person 
appearance at an approved registration site to provide or 
verify the required information and to be photographed is 
Annual. There is a mandatory minimum two year prison 
sentence for the first failure to report and a three year 
prison sentence for the first failure to provide accurate 
information. 

Tier II. Registration is for 25 years. In-person 
appearance at an approved registration site to provide or 
verify the required information and to be photographed is 
Semiannual (every six months). There is a mandatory 
minimum three year prison sentence for the first failure to 
report and a five year prison sentence for the first failure to 
provide accurate information. 

Tier III. Registration is for the Lifetime of the 
individual. In-person appearance at an approved 
registration site to provide or verify the required informa-
tion and to be photographed is Quarterly (every three 
months). There is a mandatory minimum three year prison 
sentence for the first failure to report and a five year prison 
sentence for the first failure to provide accurate 
information. 

 

 
The list of underlying offenses and related Tiers 
can be found at 42 Pa.C.S. §9799.14. 

 

Transients 
Individuals who do not maintain a residence for thirty 
consecutive days must appear Each Month at an 
approved registration site and indicate where they receive 
mail, including a post office box, and any planned 
destinations, including those outside Pennsylvania. 
Information transients must provide that will appear on the 
public internet website include their temporary habitat or 
other place of abode or dwelling (including, but not limited 
to, a homeless shelter or park), and a list of places where 
they eat, frequent and engage in leisure activities.  

Sexually Violent Predators 
Tier III requirements and penalties apply to individuals 
designated as Sexually Violent Predators. In addition, they 
must attend at least monthly counseling sessions by a 
provider approved by the Pennsylvania Sexual Offender 
Assessment Board. Failure to attend these counseling 
sessions is a misdemeanor of the first degree. 

Juveniles 
Individuals must register as a “Juvenile Offender” if they 
were at least fourteen years old at the time of the offense 
and were adjudicated delinquent for committing (or 
conspiracy, solicitation, or attempt to commit), rape, 
involuntary deviate sexual intercourse or aggravated 
indecent assault. While these individuals are not included 
on the public internet website, individuals designated as a 
“Sexually Violent Delinquent Child” are included on the 
public website. Tier III requirements and penalties apply 
to registered juveniles. For further information on juvenile 
offenders, contact the Juvenile Defender Association of 
Pennsylvania at http://www.pajuvdefenders.org. 
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Information Appearing On The  
Public Internet Website And  

Required For In-Person Registration 
 
(1) Name and aliases appear on the web site. At 
registration the individual must also provide his or her 
primary or given name, including any alias used by the 
individual, nickname, pseudonym, ethnic or tribal name, 
and any designation or monikers used for self-identification 
in internet communications or postings. 

(2) Year of birth appears on the website. At registration 
the individual must also provide the actual date of birth and 
purported date of birth. 

(3) Residence. Street address, municipality, county, 
state and zip code of residences and intended residences 
appear on the website. At registration the individual must 
also provide the location at which the individual receives 
mail, including a post office box. A residence is defined as 
“A location where an individual resides or is domiciled or 
intends to be domiciled for 30 consecutive days or more 
during a calendar year. The term includes a residence 
which is mobile, including a houseboat, mobile home, 
trailer or recreational vehicle.” 

(4) School. Street address, municipality, county, state 
and zip code of any location at which an individual is 
enrolled as a student appear on the website. A student is 
defined as “An individual who is enrolled in or attends a 
public or private educational institution within this 
Commonwealth on a full-time or part-time basis, including 
a secondary school, trade or professional institution of 
higher education. The term does not include an individual 
enrolled in an education institution exclusively through the 
internet or via correspondence courses.”  

(5) Employer. Street address, municipality, county, 
state and zip code of a fixed location where an individual is  
employed, or the general areas of work if the individual is 
not employed at a fixed address, appear on the web site.  
 

 
At registration the individual must also provide the name of 
the employer. 

(6) Photographs. The last eight facial photographs  
taken  of  the  individual,  and  the  date  each photograph 
was entered into the registry, appear on the website. 

(7) Physical description of the individual appears on 
the website. 

(8) Vehicles. License plate number and description of all 
vehicles owned or operated by the individual, including 
watercraft and aircraft, appear on the website. At 
registration the individual must also provide the address of 
the place where the vehicle is stored as well as provide the 
license to operate the motor vehicle or other identification 
card issued by the Commonwealth, another jurisdiction or 
a foreign country. 
 

 

Additional Items Appearing 
On The Public Website 

 
(1) Offense for which the individual is registered and all 
other sexually violent offenses for which the individual was 
convicted. 

(2) Compliance. A statement whether the individual is 
in compliance with registration. 

(3) Minor Victim. A statement if the victim is a minor. 

(4) Registration Date. Date on which the individual is 
made active within the registry and date when the 
individual most recently updated registration information. 

(5) Classification. Indication as to whether the 
individual is a sexually violent predator, sexually violent 
delinquent child, or convicted of a Tier I, Tier II or Tier III 
sexual offense. 

(6) Other.  If applicable, indication that an individual is 
incarcerated or committed or is a transient. 

 

Additional Items Required 
For In-Person Registration 

 
(1) Internet Identifiers. Designations used by the 
individual for purposes of routing or self-identification in 
internet communications or postings. 

(2) Telephone Numbers, including cell phone 
numbers, and any other designations used by the 
individual for purposes of routing or self-identification in 
telephonic communications. 

(3) Valid Social Security Number issued by the 
federal government or purported Social Security number. 

(4) Temporary Lodging. The specific length of time 
and the dates during which the individual will be 
temporarily lodged. Temporary lodging is defined as “The 
specific location, including street address, where a sexual 
offender is staying when away from the sexual offender’s 
residence for seven or more days.” 

(5) Passport and Documents establishing immigra-
tion status, which will be copied in a digitized format for 
inclusion in the registry. 

(6) Licenses. Information relating to occupational and 
professional licensing, including type of license held and 
the license number. 

(7) Form signed by the individual acknowledging the 
individual’s obligations. 

 

 

Information contained herein is believed to be 
accurate as of the publication date.  

However, laws can change. If you have questions, 
consult your attorney or the Megan’s Law Section 

of the Pennsylvania State Police  
1800 Elmerton Avenue, Harrisburg, PA 17110 

1-866-771-3170 toll free. 

 

Registrants Must Appear 
In Person At An  

Approved Registration Site 
Within Three Business Days To 

Report Any Of The Following 
 
(1) Name. A change in name, including an alias. 

(2) Residence. A commencement of, change in, termi-
nation of, or failure to maintain a residence, thus making 
the individual a transient. 

(3) Employer. Commencement of employment,  change 
in the location or entity in which the individual is employed 
or termination of employment. 

(4) School. Initial enrollment as, change in enrollment 
as, or termination as a student. 

(5) Phone Number. An addition, change in, or  termi-
nation of a telephone number, including a cell phone 
number. 

(6) Vehicles. An addition, change in, or termination of a 
motor vehicle owned or operated, including watercraft or 
aircraft. The individual must provide license plate numbers, 
registration numbers and other identifiers and any addition 
to or change in the address of the place the vehicle is 
stored. 

(7) Lodging. A commencement of, change in, or termi-
nation of temporary lodging. The individual must provide 
the specific length of time and the dates during which the 
individual will be temporarily lodged. 

(8) Internet Identifiers. An addition, change in or 
termination of e-mail address, instant message address or 
any other designations used in internet communications or 
postings. 

(9) Licenses. An addition, change in or termination of 
information related to occupational and professional 
licensing, including types of license held and license 
number. 


