

County Probation and Parole Officers' Firearm Education and Training Commission (FETC)

REGULAR COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES September 25, 2019, 1:00 pm

Toftrees Golf Resort & Conference Center, One Country Club Lane State College, PA 16803

The following Commissioners and other individuals were present:

Commissioner Michelle Beaver Commissioner Erik Christensen (Acting Chairman) Commissioner Tim Heitzman Commissioner Chad Libby Commissioner Russell Shurtleff Executive Director Joe MacLaughlin John Manning, Legal Advisor Ian Rowles, Recorder Craig Christensen, Guest

Those not in attendance:

Chairman Keith Graybill Commissioner John Chilleri Commissioner Larry Maggi Greg Young, Advisor Tom Dougherty, Advisor (PBPP) Helene Placey, Advisor

1. Call to Order and the Pledge of Allegiance

2. Review and approval of the Minutes of the previous meeting

• Acting Chairman Christensen announced due to the absence of Chairman Graybill he will be running the November meeting.

MOTION: 1911:01

Commissioner Beaver made a motion to approve the minutes from the September 25, 2019 Firearms Education and Training Commission meetings upon the spelling correction on Motion 1909:06.

Commissioner Libby seconded.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

3. Announcements and Reports

Chairman

 Acting Chairman Christensen nominated Helene Placey, Joe MacLaughlin and Ian Rowles to the teller committee.

Executive Director MacLaughlin

- Executive Director MacLaughlin stated the RFP for the contract has closed and there were three bids on it. The contract was for 55 classes for one year with an additional three year renewal for the contract.
- A committee of Commissioners was created to review and select the vendors for the next contract.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin announced their last BTA of the year was run, and actually had a failure. The remedial training has been completed though and the office passed afterwards.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned that FETC went up to Carbon county and assisted with their annual requalification.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin brought up a problem with a Course 2 class letting out early. He spoke to the instructors who ran the course and the vendor about why it happened. He also attended the other Course 2 to make sure it ran properly.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin reported that the CFI Course ran well and he received positive feedback from the students.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned that Jamie Forry, York County, had been added to the Curriculum Committee.

Fiscal Report

• Executive Director MacLaughlin shared the fiscal report with the Commission.

4. Reports of Officers and Standing Committees

- Committee Vice Chairman of the Curriculum Committee Craig Christensen attended to report on the Curriculum Committee meeting due to the absence of their chairman.
- Committee Vice Chairman Christensen reported they mainly focused on Course 9, Instructor Development, and Course 10, Adverse Light, and working on having them finalized.
- Committee Vice Chairman Christensen stated they discussed the possibility of running a Train-The-Trainer for Course 5 if the course gets picked up in the new contract.
- Committee Vice Chairman Christensen mentioned the possibility of making some minor changes to the CFI Course.
- Committee Vice Chairman Christensen also mentioned the Committee Chairman will be sending out notes to all of the Curriculum Committee members going forward on the talking points of the meeting.

5. New Business

Petition for Extension/Waivers

Angela Brooks – Erie County Adult Probation

Tammy Courson – Butler County Adult and Juvenile Probation

James Decker – Indiana County Adult Probation

Matthew Doughty – Lycoming County Juvenile Probation

Jamie Hurst – Allegheny County Juvenile Probation

Matthew Kachmarchi – Indiana County Adult Probation

Kimberly Pickens – Dauphin County Adult and Juvenile Probation

Robert Snyder – Butler County Adult and Juvenile Probation

Mark Witchcoff – Erie County Adult Probation

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned all of their proper medical documentation were received by FETC.

MOTION: 1911:02

Commissioner Shurtleff made a motion to amend the petition for extension requested dates to read 06/30/2020 for Angela Brooks, Matthew Kachmarchi, and Mark Witchcoff. Commissioner Heitzman seconded.

Commissioners Christensen and Libby abstained.

Motion carried by voice vote.

MOTION: 1911:03

Commissioner Shurtleff made a motion to approve the petition for extension for Angela Brooks, Tammy Courson, James Decker, Matthew Doughty, Jamie Hurst, Matthew Kachmarchi, Kimberly Pickens, Robert Snyder, and Mark Witchcoff for their requested extension dates.

Commissioner Heitzman seconded.

Commissioners Christensen and Libby abstained.

Motion carried by voice vote

Request for Initial CFI Status

Leonard Hahn – Huntingdon County Adult and Juvenile Probation **Tabitha Holland** – Huntingdon County Adult and Juvenile Probation

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned all of their proper training documentation were received by FETC.

MOTION: 1911:04

Commissioner Libby made a motion to approve the initial CFI status for Leonard Hahn, and Tabitha Holland.

Commissioner Beaver seconded.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Request for Renewal of CFI Status

Joshua Czekanski – Armstrong County Adult and Juvenile Probation
David Eckert – Franklin County Adult Probation
Aaron Harvey – Dauphin County Adult and Juvenile Probation
Eric Leydig – Westmoreland County Adult Probation
Gary Miscovich – Westmoreland County Adult Probation
Kassi Morgart – Dauphin County Adult and Juvenile Probation
Seth Reeser – Dauphin County Adult and Juvenile Probation
Andrea Sandt – Lehigh County Adult Probation
Russell Stubock – Westmoreland County Adult Probation

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned all of their proper training documentation were received by FETC.

MOTION: 1911:05

Commissioner Shurtleff made a motion to approve the renewal of CFI status for Joshua Czekanski, David Eckert, Aaron Harvey, Eric Leydig, Gary Miscovich, Kassi Morgart, Seth Reeser, Andrea Sandt, and Russell Stubock.

Commissioner Heitzman seconded.

Commissioner Libby abstained

Motion carried by voice vote.

Request for Initial MI Status

Eric Borham – Beaver County Adult Probation

David Jones – Wyoming County Adult and Juvenile Probation

James Raymer – Beaver County Adult Probation

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned all of their proper training documentation was received by FETC.

MOTION: 1911:06

Commissioner Heitzman made a motion to approve the initial MI status for Eric Borham, David Jones, and James Raymer.

Commissioner Beaver seconded.

Commissioner Shurtleff abstained

Motion carried by voice vote.

Request for Renewal of MI Status

Michael Bowie – Allegheny County Adult Probation

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned all of his proper training documentation was received by FETC.

MOTION: 1911:07

Commissioner Libby made a motion to approve the the renewal of MI status for Michael Bowie.

Commissioner Heitzman seconded.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

6. Executive Session

There was not an executive session during this meeting.

7. Public Comment and Questions

No public attendance.

8. Adjournment

MOTION: 1911:08

Commissioner Libby made a motion to adjourn.

Commissioner Shurtleff seconded.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Meeting adjourned at 10:00 am.

In accordance with The Sunshine Act, a notice announcing this meeting was placed in the Centre Daily Times on November 10, 2019.

Minutes submitted by Ian Rowles, Recorder, PBPP