

County Probation and Parole Officers' Firearm Education and Training Commission (FETC)

REGULAR COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES November 15, 2018, 9:00 am

Toftrees Golf Resort & Conference Center, One Country Club Lane State College, PA 16803

The following Commissioners and other individuals were present:

Vice Chairman Erik Christensen Commissioner Michelle Beaver Commissioner John Chilleri (via phone) Commissioner Tim Heitzman (via phone)

Commissioner Chad Libby Commissioner Russell Shurtleff Executive Director Joe MacLaughlin John Manning, Legal Advisor (via phone) Ian Rowles, Recorder (PBPP)

Craig Christensen, Vice Chairman of the Curriculum Committee

Those not in attendance:

Chairman Keith Graybill Commissioner Larry Maggi Helene Placey, Advisor Tom Dougherty, Advisor (PBPP) Greg Young, Advisor (PBPP)

1. Call to Order and the Pledge of Allegiance

2. Review and approval of the Minutes of the previous meeting

MOTION: 1811:01

Commissioner Shurtleff made a motion to approve the minutes from the September 19, 2018 and October 29, 2018 Firearms Education and Training Commission meetings. Commissioner Beaver seconded.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

3. Announcements and Reports

Executive Director MacLaughlin

• Executive Director MacLaughlin shared the plans for the 2019 Basic Training Academy. The new plans have the classroom being held at the PennDot building for free, and only having 6 weeks of the range at Palmyra Sportsmans Association.

- Executive Director MacLaughlin explained that cutting 2 of the range weeks is due to there being cancellations within the past couple of years and FETC having to cancel 2 weeks anyway. This way students won't have to change plans around at the last minute to find new range weeks.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin stated he is in discussion on creating an easier to understand form allowing counties to be able to reserve FETC equipment to run In-House trainings for Courses 5 and 6.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin asked if the Commission will allow him to modify the current Memorandum of Understanding or Intergovernmental Agreement forms temporarily so the counties can use the equipment.

MOTION: 1811:02

Commissioner Shurtleff made a motion that states the Executive Director can meet with council and develop an updated intergovernmental form for the use of Commission equipment.

Commissioner Libby seconded.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned that the 2017/2018 Annual Report is finished, and will be sent out to all of the Commissioners for their approval for the January meeting.

4. Reports of Officers and Standing Committees

- Vice Committee Chairman Craig Christensen provided the report on the Curriculum Committee due to Committee Chairman Burkholder being unable to attend.
- Vice Committee Chairman Christensen stated the Curriculum Committee ran 2 Course 3 Train-The-Trainers on the 13th and 14th and both ran well. Also, they will have more Train-The-Trainers going forward in 2019, but that schedule will be discussed at the January Curriculum Committee meeting.

5. New Business

Petition for Extension/Waiver

Timothy Ban – Allegheny County Adult Probation

James Decker – Indiana County Adult Probation

Amanda DePauw – Union County Adult and Juvenile Probation

Lisa Elliott – Allegheny County Adult Probation

Nicholas Hults – Bradford County Adult and Juvenile Probation

James Ling – Allegheny County Adult Probation

Nilmarie Mayol – Berks County Adult and Juvenile Probation

Edward McCov – Lycoming County Adult Probation

Crystal Starnes – Butler county Adult and Juvenile Probation

Scott Steva – Erie County Adult Probation

Taji Walsh – Allegheny County Juvenile Probation

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned all of their proper medical documentation were received by FETC.

MOTION: 1811:03

Commissioner Libby made a motion to approve the petitions for Timothy Ban, James Decker, Amanda DePauw, Lisa Elliott, Nicholas Hults, James Ling, Nilmarie Mayol, Edward McCoy, Crystal Starnes, Scott Steva, Taji Walsh.

Commissioner Beaver seconded.

Commissioner Christensen abstained for Scott Steva.

Motion carried by voice vote.

Request for Initial CFI Status

Brian Kaszubski – Bedford County Adult and Juvenile Probation Francis Lally – Schuylkill County Adult Probation Michael Porter – Washington County Juvenile Probation Nathaniel Schmidt – Pike County Combined Probation Marc Weir – NorthumberlandCounty Adult and Juvenile Probation

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned all of their proper training documentation were received by FETC.

MOTION: 1811:04

Commissioner Beaver made a motion to approve Brian Kaszubski, Francis Lally, Michael Porter, Nathaniel Schmidt and Marc Weir for initial CFI status.

Commissioner Shurtleff seconded.

Commissioner Heitzman abstained for Marc Weir.

Motion carried by voice vote.

Request for Renewal of CFI Status

Rebecca Arnold – Dauphin County Adult and Juvenile Probation
Jeffrey Aveni – Clearfield County Adult Probation
Peter Cairo III – Dauphin County Adult and Juvenile Probation
Michael Hayes – Schuylkill County Adult Probation
Gary O'Neal Jr. – Columbia County Juvenile Probation

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned all of their proper training documentation were received by FETC.

MOTION: 1811:05

Commissioner Shurtleff made a motion to approve the the renewal of CFI status for Rebecca Arnold, Jeffrey Aveni, Peter Cairo III, Michael Hayes and Gary O'Neal Jr. Commissioner Beaver seconded.

Commissioner Libby abstained for Rebecca Arnold and Peter Cairo III.

Motion carried by voice vote.

Request for Initial MI Status

Kelly Chapman – Schuylkill County Adult Probation

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned all of his proper training documentation was received by FETC.

MOTION: 1811:06

Commissioner Libby made a motion to approve Kelly Chapman for initial MI status. Commissioner Beaver seconded.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Request for Renewal of MI Status

Troy Smith – Daupin County Adult and Juvenile Probation

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned all of his proper training documentation was received by FETC.

MOTION: 1811:07

Commissioner Shurtleff made a motion to approve the renewal of MI status for Troy Smith.

Commissioner Beaver seconded.

Commissioner Libby abstained.

Motion carried by voice vote.

6. Executive Session

There was not an executive session during this meeting.

7. Public Comment and Questions

No public attendance.

8. Adjournment

MOTION: 1811:08

Commissioner Libby made a motion to adjourn

Commissioner Beaver seconded.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Meeting adjourned at 9:48 am.

In accordance with The Sunshine Act, a notice announcing this meeting was placed in the Centre Daily Times on November 11, 2018.

Minutes submitted by Ian Rowles, Recorder, PBPP