

County Probation and Parole Officers' Firearm Education and Training Commission (FETC)

# REGULAR COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES January 10, 2019, 9:00 am

Toftrees Golf Resort & Conference Center, One Country Club Lane State College, PA 16803

The following Commissioners and other individuals were present:

Chairman Keith Graybill
Commissioner Michelle Beaver
Commissioner Tim Heitzman
Commissioner Chad Libby
Commissioner Russell Shurtleff

Executive Director Joe MacLaughlin John Manning, Legal Advisor Tom Dougherty, Advisor (PBPP) Helene Placey, Advisor Greg Young, Advisor (PBPP) Ian Rowles, Recorder (PBPP)

#### Those not in attendance:

Commissioner John Chilleri Commissioner Erik Christensen Commissioner Larry Maggi

## 1. Call to Order and the Pledge of Allegiance

#### 2. Review and approval of the Minutes of the previous meeting

#### MOTION: 1901:01

Commissioner Shurtleff made a motion to approve the minutes from the November 15, 2018 Firearms Education and Training Commission meetings.

Commissioner Libby seconded.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

## 3. Announcements and Reports

## **Executive Director MacLaughlin**

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned he met with Legal Advisor John Manning to ask if he was permitted to email the 2017/2018 Annual Report to the President Judges instead of mailing the entire packet to each one.

- Executive Director MacLaughlin stated he was permitted and planned to send out an email to each President Judge and in the email it will include the direct link to the FETC website where they can access the new Annual Report. He just needs to locate the email of each President Judge.
- Chairman Graybill and Commissioner Shurtleff stated they have lists of the President Judges and can provide the information to Executive Director MacLaughlin.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin was proud to announce each probation officer, with the exception of petitions, completed all of their required training in 2018 prior to the December 31<sup>st</sup> deadline.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned that his site evaluation of Lycoming County went well.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin stated that the new Statement of Work is being worked on since the current contract FETC is using will be out of renewals at the end of June 2020.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin announced the Basic Training Academy signups are open for instructors only going for their Master Instructor right now, but will be open to students and other instructors soon. He also shared he is working with the PBPP training staff on dates for a CFI Course or two to run this year.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin asked the Commission if he is permitted to clean up some of the information on the FETC website since some portions are rather convoluted. The Commission didn't have any objections on the matter.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin stated FETC is still waiting on the news for the new FCTMS website. He was not sure on which agencies are ahead of FETC on the list.

# 4. Reports of Officers and Standing Committees

- Executive Director MacLaughlin shared that the Curriculum Committee held another Train-The-Trainer for Course 3 earlier in the week and the training went well.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin reported that the Curriculum Committee is planning on holding a private Course 3 training in Harrisburg to make sure the new drills run smoothly prior to the launch of the updated course in July 2019. If a problem arises they can fix it and try again in May.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin stated an email will go out asking instructors what kind of Train-The-Trainer courses they would like to see going forward and will know that schedule by the next meeting.
- Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned he informed the Committee the affirmation letter must be submitted by the members by the end of July of each calendar year, since they just signed them in October and needs to be done yearly.

#### 5. New Business

## Petition for Extension/Waiver

Tedra Allen – Allegheny County Adult Probation Nicholas Hults – Bradford County Adult and Juvenile Probation Lauren Lindsay – Cumberland County Adult Probation Nilmarie Mayol – Berks County Adult and Juvenile Probation

### **Davida Saxon** – Philadelphia County Adult Probation

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned all of their proper medical documentation were received by FETC.

### MOTION: 1901:02

Commissioner Libby made a motion to approve the petitions for extension for Tedra Allen, Nicholas Hults, Lauren Lindsay, Nilmarie Mayol, Davida Saxon.

Commissioner Beaver seconded.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

## Request for Initial CFI Status

Eric Deneen– Franklin County Adult Probation
Derek George – Carbon County Adult Probation
Paul Kattner – Carbon County Adult Probation
Travis Newman – Franklin County Adult Probation
Ronald Sible – Fayette County Adult Probation

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned all of their proper training documentation were received by FETC.

### MOTION: 1901:03

Commissioner Heitzman made a motion to approve Eric Deneen, Derek George, Paul Kattner, Travis Newman and Ronald Sible for initial CFI status.

Commissioner Shurtleff seconded.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

## Request for Renewal of CFI Status

**Robert McDonald Jr.** – Wayne County Juvenile Probation **Gerald Rose** – Monroe County Combined Probation **Bernard Sikora III** – Monroe County Combined Probation

• Executive Director MacLaughlin mentioned all of their proper training documentation were received by FETC.

#### MOTION: 1901:04

Commissioner Shurtleff made a motion to approve the the renewal of CFI status for Robert McDonald Jr., Gerald Rose and Bernard Sikora III.

Commissioner Beaver seconded.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

#### 6. Executive Session

There was not an executive session during this meeting.

#### 7. Election of Officers

- Chairman Graybill turned the meeting over to the Teller Committee, which is made up by Advisors Tom Dougherty, Helene Placey and Greg Young to proceed with the elections.
- Ballots for the nomination of Chairman were distributed, collected and tallied. Advisor Dougherty announced that Chairman Graybill was the only nominee for the Chairman position.
- Ballots for the nomination of Vice-Chairman were distributed to the Commissioners, collected and tallied. Advisor Dougherty announced that Commissioner Christensen and Commissioner Libby were nominee for the Vice-Chairman position.
- Chairman Graybill accepted the nomination for Chairman.
- Commissioner Libby accepted the nomination for Vice-Chairman and Commissioner Christensen was not in attendance to oppose the nomination.
- Ballots for the election of Chairman and Vice-Chairman were distributed, then collected
  and tallied. Advisor Young announced that Chairman Graybill was re-elected as
  Chairman and Commissioner Christensen was re-elected as Vice-Chairman of the
  Commission.

## 8. Public Comment and Questions

No public attendance.

# 9. Adjournment

### MOTION: 1901:05

Commissioner Heitzman made a motion to adjourn Commissioner Libby seconded. Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Meeting adjourned at 9:57 am.

In accordance with The Sunshine Act, a notice announcing this meeting was placed in the Centre Daily Times on January 6, 2019.

Minutes submitted by Ian Rowles, Recorder, PBPP