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TITLE 42
JUDICIARY AND JUDICIAL PROCEDURE

CHAPTER 97
SENTENCING

SUBCHAPTER H
REGISTRATION OF SEXUAL OFFENDERS

Sec.

9799.10. Purposes of subchapter.

9799.11. Legislative findings and declaration of policy.

9799.12. Definitions.

9799.13. Applicability.

9799.14. Sexual offenses and tier system.

9799.15. Period of registration.

9799.16. Registry.

9799.17. Termination of period of registration for juvenile
offenders.

9799.18. Information sharing.

9799.19. Initial registration.

9799.20. Duty to inform.

9799.21. Penalty.

9799.22. Enforcement.

9799.23. Court notification and classification requirements.

9799.24. Assessments.

9799.25. Verification by sexual offenders and Pennsylvania State
Police.

9799.26. Victim notification.

9799.27. Other notification.

9799.28. Public Internet website.

9799.29. Administration.

9799.30. Global positioning system technology.

9799.31. Immunity for good faith conduct.

9799.32. Pennsylvania State Police.

9799.33. Duties of probation and parole officials.

9799.34. Duties of facilities housing sexual offenders.

9799.35. Board.

9799.36. Counseling of sexually violent predators.

9799.37. Exemption from notification for certain licensees and
their employees.

9799.38. Annual performance audit.

9799.39. Photographs and fingerprinting.

9799.40. Duties of Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing.

9799.41. Expiration.

Enactment. Subchapter H was added October 24, 1995, 1st
Sp-Sess., P.L.1079, No.24, effective in 180 days, unless
otherwise noted.

Reenactment. Subchapter H was reenacted and amended May 10,
2000, P.L.74, No.18, effective in 60 days.

Special Provisions in Appendix. See section 5 of Act 18 of 2000
in the appendix to this title for special provisions relating to
applicability.

Cross References. Subchapter H is referred to in sections
9771.1, 9802 of this title; sections 3130, 3141, 4915, 4915.1 of
Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses); section 6707 of Title 23

Source: Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, 1 of 66
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/li/public/



Formatted by:
Pennsylvania State Police
Office of Chief Counsel October 25, 2012

(Domestic Relations); section 2303 of Title 44 (Law and Justice);
sections 3903, 4103, 4503, 6137, 6138, 6143 of Title 61 (Prisons
and Parole).
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§ 9799.10. Purposes of subchapter.

This subchapter shall be interpreted and construed to
effectuate the following purposes:

(1) To bring the Commonwealth into substantial compliance
with the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006
(Public Law 109-248, 120 Stat. 587).

(2) To require individuals convicted or adjudicated
delinquent of certain sexual offenses to register with the
Pennsylvania State Police and to otherwise comply with this
subchapter if those individuals reside within this
Commonwealth, intend to reside within this Commonwealth,
attend an educational institution within this Commonwealth or
are employed or conduct volunteer work within this
Commonwealth.

(3) To require individuals convicted or adjudicated
delinquent of certain sexual offenses who fail to maintain a
residence and are therefore homeless but can still be found
within the borders of this Commonwealth to register with the
Pennsylvania State Police.

(4) To require individuals who are currently subject to
the criminal justice system of this Commonwealth as inmates,
supervised with respect to probation or parole or registrants
under this subchapter to register with the Pennsylvania State
Police and to otherwise comply with this subchapter. To the
extent practicable and consistent with the requirements of the
Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006, this
subchapter shall be construed to maintain existing procedures
regarding registration of sexual offenders who are subject to
the criminal justice system of this Commonwealth.

(5) To provide a mechanism for members of the general
public to obtain information about certain sexual offenders
from a public Internet website and to include on that Internet
website a feature which will allow a member of the public to
enter a zip code or a geographic radius and determine whether
a sexual offender resides within that zip code or radius.

(6) To provide a mechanism for law enforcement entities
within this Commonwealth to obtain information about certain
sexual offenders and to allow law enforcement entities outside
this Commonwealth, including those within the Federal
Government, to obtain current information about certain sexual
offenders.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended pars. (2) and (3).
2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.10.
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8§ 9799.11. Legislative findings and declaration of policy.

(a) Legislative findings.--The General Assembly finds as
follows:

(1) In 1995 the General Assembly enacted the act of
October 24, 1995 (1st Sp.Sess. P.L.1079, No.24), commonly
referred to as Megan®s Law. Through this enactment, the
General Assembly intended to comply with legislation enacted
by Congress requiring that states provide for the registration
of sexual offenders. The Federal statute, the Jacob Wetterling
Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender
Registration Act (Public Law 103-322, 42 U.S.C. 14071 et
seq.), has been superseded by the Adam Walsh Child Protection
and Safety Act of 2006 (Public Law 109-248, 120 Stat. 587).

(2) This Commonwealth®"s laws regarding registration of
sexual offenders need to be strengthened. The Adam Walsh Child
Protection and Safety Act of 2006 provides a mechanism for the
Commonwealth to increase its regulation of sexual offenders in
a manner which is nonpunitive but offers an increased measure
of protection to the citizens of this Commonwealth.

(3) If the public is provided adequate notice and
information about sexual offenders, the community can develop
constructive plans to prepare for the presence of sexual
offenders in the community. This allows communities to meet
with law enforcement to prepare and obtain information about
the rights and responsibilities of the community and to
provide education and counseling to residents, particularly
children.

(4) Sexual offenders pose a high risk of committing
additional sexual offenses and protection of the public from
this type of offender is a paramount governmental interest.

(5) Sexual offenders have a reduced expectation of privacy
because of the public®s interest in public safety and in the
effective operation of government.

(6) Release of information about sexual offenders to
public agencies and the general public will further the
governmental interests of public safety and public scrutiny of
the criminal and mental health systems so long as the
information released is rationally related to the furtherance
of those goals.

(7) Knowledge of whether a person is a sexual offender
could be a significant factor in protecting oneself and one"s
family members, or those in care of a group or community
organization, from recidivist acts by such offenders.

(8) The technology afforded by the Internet and other
modern electronic communication methods makes this information
readily accessible to parents, minors and private entities,
enabling them to undertake appropriate remedial precautions to
prevent or avoid placing potential victims at risk.

(b) Declaration of policy.--The General Assembly declares as
follows:

(1) 1t is the intention of the General Assembly to
substantially comply with the Adam Walsh Child Protection and
Safety Act of 2006 and to further protect the safety and
general welfare of the citizens of this Commonwealth by
providing for increased regulation of sexual offenders,
specifically as that regulation relates to registration of
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sexual offenders and community notification about sexual
offenders.

(2) 1t is the policy of the Commonwealth to require the
exchange of relevant information about sexual offenders among
public agencies and officials and to authorize the release of
necessary and relevant information about sexual offenders to
members of the general public as a means of assuring public
protection and shall not be construed as punitive.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year)

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.11.
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§ 9799.12. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter
shall have the meanings given to them in this section unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Approved registration site." A site in this Commonwealth
approved by the Pennsylvania State Police at which individuals
subject to this subchapter may comply with this subchapter.

"Board." The State Sexual Offenders Assessment Board.

"Common interest community." Includes a cooperative, a
condominium and a planned community where an individual by virtue
of an ownership interest in any portion of real estate is or may
become obligated by covenant, easement or agreement imposed upon
the owner®s interest to pay any amount for real property taxes,
insurance, maintenance, repailr, improvement, management,
administration or regulation of any part of the real estate other
than the portion or interest owned solely by the individual.

"Convicted." Includes conviction by entry of plea of guilty or
nolo contendere, conviction after trial or court martial and a
finding of not guilty due to insanity or of guilty but mentally
ill.

"Employed." Includes a vocation or employment that is full time
or part time for a period of time exceeding four days during a
seven-day period or for an aggregate period of time exceeding 14
days during any calendar year, whether self-employed,
volunteered, financially compensated, pursuant to a contract or
for the purpose of governmental or educational benefit.

"Foreign country.” Includes Canada, the United Kingdom,
Australia, New Zealand and a foreign country where the United
States Department of State in the Country Reports on Human Rights
Practices has concluded that an independent judiciary enforced
the right to a fair trial in that country during the calendar
year in which the individual®s conviction occurred.

"1AFIS." The Integrated Automated Fingerprint Identification
System.

"Integrated Automated Fingerprint ldentification System.”™ The
national fingerprint and criminal history system maintained by
the Federal Bureau of Investigation providing automated
fingerprint search capabilities, latent searching capability,
electronic image storage and electronic exchange of fingerprints
and responses.

“"Jurisdiction." A state, the District of Columbia, the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the Northern
Mariana Islands, the United States Virgin Islands and a federally
recognized Indian tribe as provided in section 127 of the Adam
Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006 (Public Law 109-
248, 42 U.S.C. § 16927).

"Juvenile offender."” One of the following:

(1) An individual who was 14 years of age or older at the
time the individual committed an offense which, if committed

by an adult, would be classified as an offense under 18

Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape), 3123 (relating to

involuntary deviate sexual intercourse) or 3125 (relating to

aggravated indecent assault) or an attempt, solicitation or

conspiracy to commit an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123

or 3125 and either:
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(i) is adjudicated delinquent for such offense on or
after the effective date of this section; or

(ii) has been adjudicated delinquent for such offense
and on the effective date of this section is subject to
the jurisdiction of the court on the basis of that
adjudication of delinquency, including commitment to an

institution or facility set forth in section 6352(a)(3)

(relating to a disposition of delinquent child).

(2) An individual who was 14 years of age or older at the
time the individual committed an offense similar to an offense
under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 3125 or an attempt,
solicitation or conspiracy to commit an offense similar to an
offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 3125 under the laws
of the United States, another jurisdiction or a foreign
country and was adjudicated delinquent for such an offense.

(3) An individual who, on or after the effective date of
this paragraph, was required to register in a sexual offender
registry in another jurisdiction or foreign country based upon
an adjudication of delinquency.

The term does not include a sexually violent delinquent child.

"Mental abnormality." A congenital or acquired condition of a
person that affects the emotional or volitional capacity of the
person in a manner that predisposes that person to the commission
of criminal sexual acts to a degree that makes the person a
menace to the health and safety of other persons.

"Military offense.'" An offense specified by the United States
Secretary of Defense under 10 U.S.C. § 951 (relating to
establishment; organization; administration).

"Minor." Any individual under 18 years of age.

"Municipality.” A city, borough, incorporated town or township.

"NCIC." The National Crime Information Center.

"Penetration.” Includes any penetration, however slight, of the
genitals or anus or mouth of another person with a part of the
person®s body or a foreign object for any purpose other than good
faith medical, hygienic or law enforcement procedures.

"Predatory." An act directed at a stranger or at a person with
whom a relationship has been initiated, established, maintained
or promoted, in whole or in part, in order to facilitate or
support victimization.

"Registry.” The Statewide Registry of Sexual Offenders
established iIn section 9799.16(a) (relating to registry).

"Residence." A location where an individual resides or is
domiciled or intends to be domiciled for 30 consecutive days or
more during a calendar year. The term includes a residence which
is mobile, including a houseboat, mobile home, trailer or
recreational vehicle.

"Sexual offender." An individual required to register under
this subchapter.

"Sexually violent delinquent child." As defined in section 6402
(relating to definitions).

"Sexually violent offense.'" An offense specified in section
9799.14 (relating to sexual offenses and tier system) as a Tier
I, Tier Il or Tier Il sexual offense.

"Sexually violent predator.” An individual determined to be a
sexually violent predator under section 9795.4 (relating to
assessments) prior to the effective date of this subchapter or an
individual convicted of an offense specified in:
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(1) section 9799.14(b)(1). (2), (3), (4. (5). (6). (8),

(9) or (10) (relating to sexual offenses and tier system) or

an attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit any offense

under section 9799.14(b)(1), (@), (3), 4, (B), (B, (B), (9

or (10);

(2) section 9799.14(c)(1), (1.1, (1.2), @, 3O, D,

(5) or (6) or an attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit

an offense under section 9799.14(c)(1), (1.1), (1.2), (2),

3. (4), (5) or (6); or

(3) section 9799.14(d)(1), (2), (3), (4, (5), (6), (M),

(8) or (9) or an attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit

an offense under section 9799.14(d) (1), (@), (3), (4, (5),

®)., (7, (8) or (9)
who, on or after the effective date of this subchapter, is
determined to be a sexually violent predator under section
9799.24 (relating to assessments) due to a mental abnormality or
personality disorder that makes the individual likely to engage
in predatory sexually violent offenses. The term includes an
individual determined to be a sexually violent predator or
similar designation where the determination occurred in another
jJurisdiction, a foreign country or by court martial following a
judicial or administrative determination pursuant to a process
similar to that under section 9799.24.

"Student.” An individual who is enrolled in or attends a public
or private educational institution within this Commonwealth on a
full-time or part-time basis, including a secondary school, trade
or professional iInstitution or institution of higher education.
The term does not include an individual enrolled in an
educational institution exclusively through the Internet or via
correspondence courses.

"Temporary lodging." The specific location, including street
address, where a sexual offender is staying when away from the
sexual offender"s residence for seven or more days.

"Tier | sexual offense.” An offense specified in section
9799.14(b) (relating to sexual offenses and tier system).

"Tier Il sexual offense.” An offense specified iIn section
9799.14(c) (relating to sexual offenses and tier system).
"Tier 111 sexual offense." An offense specified in section

9799.14(d) (relating to sexual offenses and tier system).
"Transient.” An individual required to register under this
subchapter who does not have a residence but nevertheless resides
in this Commonwealth in a temporary habitat or other temporary

place of abode or dwelling, including, but not limited to, a
homeless shelter or park.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended the defs. of "approved
registration site,"” "convicted,
"sexually violent predator.”

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.12.

Cross References. Section 9799.12 is referred to in sections
9718.1, 9799.19 of this title; section 4915.1 of Title 18 (Crimes
and Offenses).

jJuvenile offender' and
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§ 9799.13. Applicability.

The following individuals shall register with the Pennsylvania

State Police as provided in sections 9799.15 (relating to period

of

registration), 9799.19 (relating to initial registration) and

9799.25 (relating to verification by sexual offenders and
Pennsylvania State Police) and otherwise comply with the
provisions of this subchapter:

(1) An individual who, on or after the effective date of
this section, is convicted of a sexually violent offense and
who has a residence within this Commonwealth or is a
transient.

(1.1) An individual who, on or after the effective date of
this section, is convicted of a sexually violent offense in
this Commonwealth and does not have a residence in this
Commonwealth and:

(i) 1is employed in this Commonwealth; or
(ii) 1is a student in this Commonwealth.

(1.2) An individual who, on or after the effective date of
this section, is convicted of a sexually violent offense and
does not have a residence within this Commonwealth or is not a
transient in this Commonwealth and:

(i) 1is employed in this Commonwealth; or
(ii) is a student in this Commonwealth.

(2) An individual who, on or after the effective date of
this section, is, as a result of a conviction for a sexually
violent offense, an inmate in a State or county correctional
institution of this Commonwealth, including a community
corrections center or a community contract facility, is being
supervised by the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole
or county probation or parole, is subject to a sentence of
intermediate punishment or has supervision transferred
pursuant to the Interstate Compact for Adult Supervision in
accordance with section 9799.19(9).

(2.1) An individual who, on or after the effective date of
this section, is, as a result of a conviction for a sexually
violent offense, an inmate in a Federal correctional
institution or is supervised by Federal probation authorities
and who:

(i) has a residence within this Commonwealth or is a
transient;

(i1) is employed within this Commonwealth; or

(iil) 1is a student within this Commonwealth.

(3) An individual who is required to register or was
required to register and failed to register with the
Pennsylvania State Police under this subchapter prior to the
effective date of this section and who has not fulfilled the
period of registration as of the effective date of this
section.

(4) (Deleted by amendment).

(4.1) (Deleted by amendment).

(5) (Deleted by amendment).

(6) (Deleted by amendment).

(7) An individual who, on or after the effective date of
this section, is required to register in a sexual offender
registry in another jurisdiction or in a foreign country based
upon a conviction for a sexually violent offense or under a
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sexual offender statute in the jurisdiction where the
individual is convicted and:
(i) has a residence in this Commonwealth or is a
transient;
(ii) is employed within this Commonwealth; or
(iil) 1is a student within this Commonwealth.

(7.1) An individual who, on or after the effective date of
this section, is required to register in a sexual offender
registry in another jurisdiction or foreign country based upon
a conviction of an offense set forth in section 9799.14(b)(23)
(relating to sexual offenses and tier system) and:

(i) has a residence in this Commonwealth or is a
transient;

(ii) is employed within this Commonwealth; or

(iil) 1is a student within this Commonwealth.

(7.2) An individual who, on or after the effective date of
this paragraph, is convicted of a sexually violent offense in
another jurisdiction or foreign country, or is incarcerated or
under supervision as a result of a conviction for a sexually
violent offense in another jurisdiction or foreign country
and:

(i) has a residence in this Commonwealth or is a
transient;

(ii) is employed within this Commonwealth; or

(iii) 1is a student within this Commonwealth.

(8) An individual who, on or after the effective date of
this section, is a juvenile offender who was adjudicated
delinquent within this Commonwealth or was adjudicated
delinquent in another jurisdiction or a foreign country and:

(i) has a residence within this Commonwealth;
(ii) is employed within this Commonwealth; or
(iii) 1is a student within this Commonwealth.

(8-.1) An individual who is a juvenile offender who is
adjudicated delinquent in this Commonwealth on or after the
effective date of this paragraph but who does not have a
residence within this Commonwealth, is not a transient, is not
employed in this Commonwealth or is not a student within this
Commonwealth must register with the Pennsylvania State Police
in accordance with section 9799.19 prior to leaving this
Commonweal th.

(9) An individual who, on or after the effective date of
this section, is a sexually violent delinquent child who is
committed for involuntary treatment or, on the effective date
of this section, is under commitment receiving involuntary
treatment in the State-owned facility or unit as set forth in
Chapter 64 (relating to court-ordered involuntary treatment of
certain sexually violent persons).

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

References in Text. Section 16 of Act 111 of 2011 provided that
any reference In any act or part of an act to section 9795.1,
referred to in par. (4), shall be deemed a reference to section
9799.15 as if fully set forth in that act or part of that act.

Cross References. Section 9799.13 is referred to in sections
9718.4, 9799.15, 9799.16, 9799.18, 9799.19, 9799.21, 9799.22,
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9799.25 of this title; section 4915.1 of Title 18 (Crimes and
Offenses).
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§ 9799.14. Sexual offenses and tier system.

(a) Tier system established.--Sexual offenses shall be

classified in a three-tiered system composed of Tier | sexual
offenses, Tier Il sexual offenses and Tier 111 sexual offenses.

(b) Tier 1 sexual offenses.--The following offenses shall be

classified as Tier | sexual offenses:

(1) 18 Pa.C.S. § 2902(b) (relating to unlawful restraint).

(2) 18 Pa.C.S. § 2903(b) (relating to false imprisonment).

(3) 18 Pa.C.S. § 2904 (relating to interference with
custody of children).

(4) 18 Pa.C.S. § 2910 (relating to luring a child into a
motor vehicle or structure).

(5) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3124.2(a) (relating to institutional
sexual assault).

(6) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3126(a)(1) (relating to indecent
assault).

(7) (Reserved).

(8) 18 Pa.C.S. § 6301(a)(1)(ii) (relating to corruption of
minors).

(9) 18 Pa.C.S. 8§ 6312(d) (relating to sexual abuse of
children).

(10) 18 Pa.C.S. 8 7507.1. (relating to invasion of
privacy).

(11) 18 U.S.C. 8§ 1801 (relating to video voyeurism).

(12) 18 U.S.C. § 2252(a)(4) (relating to certain
activities relating to material involving the sexual
exploitation of minors).

(13) 18 U.S.C. § 2252A (relating to certain activities
relating to material constituting or containing child
pornography) .

(14) 18 U.S.C. § 2252B (relating to misleading domain
names on the Internet).

(15) 18 U.S.C. § 2252C (relating to misleading words or
digital images on the Internet).

(16) 18 U.S.C. § 2422(a) (relating to coercion and
enticement).

(17) 18 U.S.C. § 2423(b) (relating to transportation of
minors).

(18) 18 U.S.C. § 2423(c).

(19) 18 U.S.C. § 2424 (relating to filing factual
statement about alien individual).

(20) 18 U.S.C. § 2425 (relating to use of interstate
facilities to transmit information about a minor).

(21) A comparable military offense or similar offense
under the laws of another jurisdiction or foreign country or
under a former law of this Commonwealth.

(22) An attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit an
offense listed in paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4, (5, (6), (M,
(3, (9, (10), (11), (12), (13), (14), (15), (16), (A7),
(8), (19), (20) or (21).

(23) A conviction for a sexual offense in another
jJurisdiction or foreign country that is not set forth in this
section, but nevertheless requires registration under a sexual
offender statute in the jurisdiction or foreign country.
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(c) Tier 11 sexual offenses.--The following offenses shall be
classified as Tier Il sexual offenses:

(1) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3122.1(a)(2) (relating to statutory
sexual assault).

(1.1) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3124.2(a.2) and (a-3).

(1.2) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3126(a)(2), (3), (4), (5), (6) or (8).-

(2) 18 Pa.C.S. § 5902(b.1) (relating to prostitution and
related offenses).

(3) 18 Pa.C.S. § 5903(a)((3)(in), (W), (B)(i) or (6)
(relating to obscene and other sexual materials and
performances).

(4) 18 Pa.C.S. § 6312(b) and (c)-

(5) 18 Pa.C.S. § 6318 (relating to unlawful contact with
minor).

(6) 18 Pa.C.S. 8 6320 (relating to sexual exploitation of
children).

(7) 18 U.S.C. § 1591 (relating to sex trafficking of
children by force, fraud, or coercion).

(8) 18 U.S.C. § 2243 (relating to sexual abuse of a minor
or ward).

(9) 18 U.S.C. § 2244 (relating to abusive sexual contact)
where the victim is 13 years of age or older but under 18
years of age.

(10) 18 U.S.C. 8§ 2251 (relating to sexual exploitation of
children).

(11) 18 U.S.C. § 2251A (relating to selling or buying of
children).

(12) 18 U.S.C. § 2252(a)(1), (2) or (3).

(13) 18 U.S.C. 8§ 2260 (relating to production of sexually
explicit depictions of a minor for importation into the United
States).

(14) 18 U.S.C. § 2421 (relating to transportation
generally).

(15) 18 U.S.C. § 2422(b).

(16) 18 U.S.C. § 2423(a)-

(17) A comparable military offense or similar offense
under the laws of another jurisdiction or foreign country or
under a former law of this Commonwealth.

(18) An attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit an
offense listed in paragraph (1), (2), (3., (4, (B, (), (M),
@), (9. (10), (11), (12), (13), (14), (15), (16) or (17).
(d) Tier 111 sexual offenses.--The following offenses shall be

classified as Tier 111 sexual offenses:

(1) 18 Pa.C.S. § 2901(a-1) (relating to kidnapping) -

(2) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape).

(3) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3122.1(b) (relating to statutory sexual
assault).

(4) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate
sexual intercourse).

(5) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault).

(6) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3124.2(a.1).

(7) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent
assault).

(8) 18 Pa.C.S. § 3126(a)(7)-

(9) 18 Pa.C.S. § 4302(b) (relating to incest).
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(10) 18 U.S.C. § 2241 (relating to aggravated sexual
abuse).

(11) 18 U.S.C. § 2242 (relating to sexual abuse).
(12) 18 U.S.C. § 2244 where the victim is under 13 years
of age.

(13) A comparable military offense or similar offense
under the laws of another jurisdiction or country or under a
former law of this Commonwealth.

(14) An attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit an
offense listed in paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4, (5), (6), (M),
@), (9. (10), (11), (12) or (13).

(15) (Reserved).

(16) Two or more convictions of offenses listed as Tier 1|
or Tier 11 sexual offenses.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended subsecs. (b)(12) and (21),

@O, (12) and (17) and (d)(12), (13) and (15) and added
subsec. (b)(23).

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.14.
Cross References. Section 9799.14 is referred to iIn sections

9718.2, 9799.12, 9799.13, 9799.15 of this title.
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§ 9799.15. Period of registration.

(a) Period of registration.--Subject to subsection (c), an
individual specified in section 9799.13 (relating to
applicability) shall register with the Pennsylvania State Police
as follows:

(1) An individual convicted of a Tier I sexual offense,
except an offense set forth in section 9799.14(b)(23)
(relating to sexual offenses and tier system), shall register
for a period of 15 years.

(2) An individual convicted of a Tier Il sexual offense
shall register for a period of 25 years.
(3) An individual convicted of a Tier 11l sexual offense

shall register for the life of the individual.

(4) A juvenile offender who was adjudicated delinquent in
this Commonwealth, or who was adjudicated delingquent in
another jurisdiction or foreign country as a consequence of
having committed an offense similar to an offense which would
require the individual to register if the offense was
committed in this Commonwealth, shall register for the life of
the individual.

(4.1) A juvenile offender who s required to register in a
sexual offender registry in another jurisdiction or foreign
country as a consequence of having been adjudicated delinquent
for an offense similar to an offense which, if committed in
this Commonwealth, would not require the individual to
register shall register for a period of time equal to that
required of the individual in the other jurisdiction or
foreign country.

(5) A sexually violent delinquent child shall register for
the life of the individual.

(6) A sexually violent predator shall register for the
life of the individual.

(7) An individual subject to registration under section
9799.13(7.1) shall register for the period of time equal to
the time for which the individual was required to register in
another jurisdiction or foreign country.

(b) Commencement of registration.--The following apply:

(1) The period of registration set forth in subsection (&)
shall commence as follows:

(i) For an individual convicted of a sexually violent
offense iIn this Commonwealth, the period of registration
shall commence upon:

(A) release from incarceration in a State or
county correctional facility, including release to a
community correction center or community contract
facility;

(B) parole or a sentence of probation; or

(C) a sentence of State or county intermediate
punishment in which the person is not sentenced to a
period of incarceration.

(ii) For an individual who is a juvenile offender,
the period of registration shall commence upon:

(A) release from an institution or facility set
forth in section 6352(a)(3) (relating to disposition
of delinquent child), if the juvenile offender is, on
or after the effective date of this section, subject
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to the jurisdiction of a court pursuant to a
disposition entered under section 6352 and is under
court-ordered placement in an institution or facility
set forth in section 6352(a)(3); or

(B) disposition, if the juvenile offender is, on
or after the effective date of this section, subject

to the jurisdiction of a court pursuant to a

disposition entered under section 6352 and is placed

on probation or is otherwise subject to jurisdiction
of a court pursuant to a disposition under section

6352 that did not involve out-of-home placement.

(iii) For a sexually violent delinquent child, the
period of registration shall commence upon transfer to
involuntary outpatient treatment pursuant to section
6404.1 (relating to transfer to involuntary outpatient
treatment).

(iv) For an individual who is convicted of a sexually
violent offense in another jurisdiction or foreign country
or a comparable military offense, the period of
registration shall commence upon establishment of a
residence or commencement of employment or enrollment as a
student within this Commonwealth. This subparagraph shall
apply to an individual convicted of a sexually violent
offense in another jurisdiction or foreign country or
comparable military offense and who is a transient.

(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (1), an
individual specified in section 9799.13 shall initially
register with the Pennsylvania State Police as set forth in
section 9799.19 (relating to initial registration).

(c) Period of registration tolled.--The following shall apply:

(1) The period of registration set forth in subsection (a)
shall be tolled for the period of time in which the individual
specified in section 9799.13 1is:

(i) 1incarcerated in a Federal, State or county
correctional institution, excluding a community contract
facility or community corrections center;

(ii) subject to a sentence of intermediate punishment
which is restrictive and where the individual is sentenced
to a period of incarceration;

(ii1) committed to an institution or facility set
forth in section 6352(a)(3) that provides the individual
with 24-hour-per-day supervision and care;

(iv) committed to and receiving involuntary inpatient
treatment in the State-owned facility or unit set forth in
Chapter 64 (relating to court-ordered involuntary
treatment of certain sexually violent persons); or

(v) incarcerated in a Federal correctional
institution, excluding a community contract facility or
community corrections center.

(2) This subsection shall apply to an individual specified
in section 9799.13 who is recommitted to a Federal, State or
county correctional institution for a parole violation or who
has been sentenced to an additional term of imprisonment. In
addition, this subsection shall apply to an individual
committed to or recommitted to a Federal correctional
institution. In the case of recommitment to a State or county
correctional institution, the Department of Corrections or the
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county correctional facility shall notify the Pennsylvania

State Police of the admission of the individual.

(d) Sexually violent predators.--An individual convicted of a
Tier I sexual offense, a Tier 1l sexual offense or a Tier 111
sexual offense who is determined to be a sexually violent
predator under section 9799.24 (relating to assessments) shall
register for the life of the individual.

(e) Periodic in-person appearance required.--Except as
provided in subsection (f) and subject to subsections (g) and
(h), an individual specified In section 9799.13 shall appear in
person at an approved registration site to provide or verify the
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) (relating to
registry) and to be photographed as follows:

(1) An individual convicted of a Tier I sexual offense
shall appear annually.

(2) An individual convicted of a Tier Il sexual offense
shall appear semiannually.
(3) An individual convicted of a Tier 11l sexual offense

shall appear quarterly.

(4) An individual required to register pursuant to section
9799.13(7.1) shall appear annually.

() Sexually violent predators.--A sexually violent predator
shall appear in person at an approved registration site to:

(1) provide or verify the information set forth in section
9799.16(b);

(2) be photographed quarterly; and

(3) state whether he is in compliance with section 9799.36
(relating to counseling of sexually violent predators).

(9) In-person appearance to update information.--In addition
to the periodic In-person appearance required in subsections (e),
() and (h), an individual specified in section 9799.13 shall
appear in person at an approved registration site within three
business days to provide current information relating to:

(1) A change in name, including an alias.

(2) A commencement of residence, change in residence,
termination of residence or failure to maintain a residence,
thus making the individual a transient.

(3) Commencement of employment, a change in the location
or entity in which the individual is employed or a termination
of employment.

(4) Initial enrollment as a student, a change in
enrollment as a student or termination as a student.

(5) An addition and a change in telephone number,
including a cell phone number, or a termination of telephone
number, including a cell phone number.

(6) An addition, a change in and termination of a motor
vehicle owned or operated, including watercraft or aircraft.
In order to fulfill the requirements of this paragraph, the
individual must provide any license plate numbers and
registration numbers and other identifiers and an addition to
or change in the address of the place the vehicle is stored.

(7) A commencement of temporary lodging, a change in
temporary lodging or a termination of temporary lodging. In
order to fulfill the requirements of this paragraph, the
individual must provide the specific length of time and the
dates during which the individual will be temporarily lodged.

Source: Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, 17 of 66
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(8) An addition, change in or termination of e-mail
address, instant message address or any other designations
used in Internet communications or postings.

(9) An addition, change in or termination of information
related to occupational and professional licensing, including
type of license held and license number.

(h) Transients, juvenile offenders and sexually violent
delinquent children.--If the individual specified in section
9799.13 is a transient, a juvenile offender or a sexually violent
delinquent child, the following apply:

(1) If the individual is a transient, the individual shall
appear in person at an approved registration site to provide
or to verify the information set forth in section 9799.16(b)
and to be photographed monthly. The duty to appear in person
monthly and to be photographed shall apply until a transient
establishes a residence. In the event a transient establishes
a residence, the requirement of periodic in-person appearances
set forth in subsection (e) shall apply.

(2) If the individual is a juvenile offender who is not a
transient, the individual shall appear at an approved
registration site to provide or verify the information set
forth In section 9799.16(b) and to be photographed quarterly.

(3) If the individual is a sexually violent delinquent
child who is not a transient, the individual shall appear at
an approved registration site to provide or verify the
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and to be
photographed quarterly.

(i) International travel.--In addition to the periodic in-
person appearance required in subsection (e), an individual
specified In section 9799.13 shall appear in person at an
approved registration site no less than 21 days in advance of
traveling outside of the United States. The individual shall
provide the following information:

(1) Dates of travel, including date of return to the
United States.

(2) Destinations.

(3) Temporary lodging.

() In-person reporting by incarcerated or committed
individuals.--The requirements of subsections (e), (), (g) and
(h) do not apply where the individual specified in section
9799.13 is:

(1) incarcerated in a correctional iInstitution, excluding
a community contract facility or community corrections center;

(2) subject to a sentence of intermediate punishment which
is restrictive and where the individual is sentenced to a
period of incarceration;

(3) committed to an institution or facility set forth in
section 6352(a)(3) which provides the individual with 24-hour-
per-day supervision and care; or

(4) committed to and receiving involuntary inpatient
treatment in the State-owned facility or unit set forth in
Chapter 64.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111l, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)
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2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended subsecs. ()(1), (4) and (7),
(), (P, (@ and (h) and added subsecs. (a)(4-1) and (J)-

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.15. Section 16 of
Act 111 provided that any reference in any act or part of an act
to section 9795.1 shall be deemed a reference to section 9799.15
as if fully set forth in that act or part of that act.

Cross References. Section 9799.15 is referred to in sections
6404.2, 9718.4, 9799.13, 9799.16, 9799.17, 9799.18, 9799.19,
9799.21, 9799.22, 9799.23, 9799.25, 9799.26, 9799.28 of this
title; section 4915.1 of Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses).
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§ 9799.16. Registry.

(a) Establishment.--There is established a Statewide registry

of sexual offenders in order to carry out the provisions of this
subchapter. The Pennsylvania State Police shall create and
maintain the registry. The registry shall maintain a complete and
systematic index of all records required regarding sexual
offenders in order to comply with the Adam Walsh Child Protection
and Safety Act of 2006 (Public Law 109-248, 120 Stat. 587). The
registry shall:

(1) Be composed of an electronic database and digitized
records.

(2) Be able to communicate with the Sex Offender
Registration and Notification Act Exchange Portal developed by
the United States Department of Justice, the National Sex
Offender Registry or any successor database which 1is
maintained by the Department of Justice and the Dru Sjodin
National Sex Offender Public Internet Website maintained by
the Department of Justice.

(3) Be able to communicate with sexual offender registries
established in other jurisdictions.

(b) Information provided by sexual offender.--An individual

specified in section 9799.13 (relating to applicability) shall
provide the following information which shall be included in the
registry:

(1) Primary or given name, including an alias used by the
individual, nickname, pseudonym, ethnic or tribal name,
regardless of the context used and any designations or
monikers used for self-identification in Internet
communications or postings.

(2) Designation used by the individual for purposes of
routing or self-identification in Internet communications or
postings.

(3) Telephone number, including cell phone number, and any
other designation used by the individual for purposes of
routing or self-identification in telephonic communications.

(4) Vvalid Social Security number issued to the individual
by the Federal Government and purported Social Security
number.

(5) Address of each residence or intended residence,
whether or not the residence or intended residence is located
within this Commonwealth and the location at which the
individual receives mail, including a post office box. If the
individual fails to maintain a residence and is therefore a
transient, the individual shall provide information for the
registry as set forth in paragraph (6).

(6) If the individual is a transient, the individual shall
provide information about the transient®"s temporary habitat or
other temporary place of abode or dwelling, including, but not
limited to, a homeless shelter or park. In addition, the
transient shall provide a list of places the transient eats,
frequents and engages in leisure activities and any planned
destinations, including those outside this Commonwealth. If
the transient changes or adds to the places listed under this
paragraph during a monthly period, the transient shall list
these when registering as a transient during the next monthly
period. In addition, the transient shall provide the place the
transient receives mail, including a post office box. If the
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transient has been designated as a sexually violent predator,

the transient shall state whether he is in compliance with

section 9799.36 (relating to counseling of sexually violent
predators). The duty to provide the information set forth in

this paragraph shall apply until the transient establishes a

residence. In the event a transient establishes a residence,

the requirements of section 9799.15(e) (relating to period of
registration) shall apply.

(7) Temporary lodging. In order to fulfill the
requirements of this paragraph, the individual must provide
the specific length of time and the dates during which the
individual will be temporarily lodged.

(8) A passport and documents establishing immigration
status, which shall be copied in a digitized format for
inclusion in the registry.

(9) Name and address where the individual is employed or
will be employed. In order to fulfill the requirements of this
paragraph, if the individual is not employed in a fixed
workplace, the individual shall provide information regarding
general travel routes and general areas where the individual
works.

(10) Information relating to occupational and professional
licensing, including type of license held and the license
number .

(11) Name and address where the individual is a student or
will be a student.

(12) Information relating to motor vehicles owned or
operated by the individual, including watercraft and aircraft.
In order to fulfill the requirements of this paragraph, the
individual shall provide a description of each motor vehicle,
watercraft or aircraft. The individual shall provide a license
plate number, registration number or other identification
number and the address of the place where a vehicle is stored.
In addition, the individual shall provide the individual®s
license to operate a motor vehicle or other identification
card issued by the Commonwealth, another jurisdiction or a
foreign country so that the Pennsylvania State Police can
fulfill i1ts responsibilities under subsection (¢)(7).

(13) Actual date of birth and purported date of birth.

(14) Form signed by the individual acknowledging the
individual"s obligations under this subchapter provided in
accordance with section 9799.23 (relating to court
notification and classification requirements).

(c) Criminal justice information.--The Pennsylvania State
Police shall ensure that the following information is included in
or electronically accessible by the registry:

(1) Physical description of the individual, including a
general physical description and tattoos, scars and other
identifying marks.

(2) Text of the statute defining the criminal offense for
which the individual is registered.

(3) Criminal history record information of the individual,
including:

(i) Dates of arrests and convictions.

(ii) Status of probation, parole or supervised
release.

(ii1) Whether the individual is in compliance with
requirements regarding this subchapter or has absconded.

Source: Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, 21 of 66
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/li/public/



Formatted by:
Pennsylvania State Police
Office of Chief Counsel October 25, 2012

(iv) Existence of any outstanding warrants.

(4) Current photograph of the individual. In order to
fulfill the requirements of this paragraph, in addition to the
taking of photographs pursuant to section 9799.15(e), the
Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that additional
photographs are taken as needed when there is a significant
change in appearance of the individual, including the taking
of a current photograph before the individual is released from
a State or county correctional institution or an institution
or facility set forth in section 6352(a)(3) (relating to
disposition of delinquent child) or discharged from the State-
owned facility or unit set forth in Chapter 64 (relating to
court-ordered involuntary treatment of certain sexually
violent persons) due to:

(i) the expiration of sentence, period of commitment
or involuntary treatment;

(i1) parole or other supervised release, including
release to a community corrections center or a community
contract facility;

(iii) commencement of a sentence of intermediate
punishment; or

(iv) any other form of supervised release.

(5) Set of fingerprints and palm prints of the individual.
In order to fulfill the requirements of this paragraph, the
palm prints shall be taken for the purpose of submission to
the Federal Bureau of Investigation Central Database. The palm
prints shall be submitted for entry into the database.

(6) DNA sample of the individual. In order to fulfill the
requirements of this paragraph, the sample shall be taken for
the purpose of analysis and entry into the Combined DNA Index
System (CODIS). In addition, the sample shall be analyzed and
submitted for entry into CODIS.

(7) Photocopy of valid driver~"s license or identification
card issued to the individual by the Commonwealth, another
jurisdiction or a foreign country.

(d) Cooperation.--There shall be cooperation between the
Pennsylvania State Police, State and county correctional
institutions, the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the
county office of probation and parole, any court with
jurisdiction over a sexual offender, the chief juvenile probation
officer of the court, juvenile probation and parole and the
Department of Public Welfare to ensure that the information set
forth in subsections (b) and (c) is provided and placed in the
registry.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended subsecs. (b)(5) and (6), (c)
intro. par. and (d).

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.16.

Cross References. Section 9799.16 is referred to in sections
9799.12, 9799.15, 9799.18, 9799.19, 9799.20, 9799.23, 9799.25 of
this title; section 4915.1 of Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses).
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§ 9799.17. Termination of period of registration for juvenile
offenders.

(a) Juvenile offender.--An individual who is a juvenile
offender, with the exception of a juvenile offender whose period
of registration is determined by section 9799.15(a)(4.1)
(relating to period of registration), shall have the requirement
to register terminated if all of the following apply:

(1) At least 25 years have elapsed since the individual
was:

(i) adjudicated delinquent for an offense which, if
committed by an adult, would be classified as an offense
under 18 Pa.C.S. 8 3121 (relating to rape), 3123 (relating
to involuntary deviate sexual intercourse) or 3125
(relating to aggravated indecent assault) or an attempt,
solicitation or conspiracy to commit an offense under 18
Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 3125, excluding time spent under
the supervision of the court, including commitment to an
institution or facility set forth in section 6352(a)(3)
(relating to deposition of delinquent child); or

(ii) adjudicated delinquent for an offense in another
jurisdiction or foreign country which is similar to that
which if committed by an adult in this Commonwealth would
be classified as an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123
or 3125 or an attempt, solicitation or conspiracy to
commit an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 3125.
(2) For a period of 25 years prior to the filing of the

petition, the individual has not been convicted of a

subsequent sexually violent offense or a subsequent offense:

(i) graded as a misdemeanor of the second degree or
higher; or

(ii) which is punishable by a term of imprisonment
greater than one year.

(3) The individual successfully completed court-ordered
supervision without revocation.

(4) The individual successfully completed a treatment
program for sexual offenders recognized by the juvenile court
in this Commonwealth or another jurisdiction or the United
States Attorney General under section 115(b)(1) of the Adam
Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006 (Public Law 109-
248, 42 U.S.C. § 16915(b)(1)).-

(b) Procedure.--An individual who was adjudicated delinquent
in this Commonwealth and who seeks to terminate the obligation to
register pursuant to subsection (a) may petition the court of
common pleas of the county in which the individual was
adjudicated delinquent for termination. An individual who was
adjudicated delinquent in another jurisdiction or foreign country
may petition the court of common pleas in the county in which the
individual has established a residence in this Commonwealth. The
court shall:

(1) Within 120 days of the filing of the petition under
this subsection, hold a hearing to determine whether to
terminate the obligation to register. The petitioner and the
district attorney shall be given notice of the hearing and an
opportunity to be heard, the right to call witnesses, the
right to call expert witnesses and the right to cross-examine
witnesses. The petitioner shall have the right to counsel and
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to have a lawyer appointed if the petitioner cannot afford

one.

(2) Terminate the obligation to register only upon a
finding of clear and convincing evidence that the petitioner
has satisfied the criteria in subsection (a) and that allowing
the petitioner to terminate the obligation to register is not
likely to pose a threat to the safety of any other person. The
burden of proof shall be on the petitioner.

(c) Notice.--A court granting relief under this section shall
notify the Megan®s Law Unit of the Pennsylvania State Police in
writing within ten days from the date relief is granted.

(d) Right to appeal.--The petitioner and the Commonwealth
shall have the right to appellate review of the actions of the
court taken under this section. An appeal by the Commonwealth
shall stay the order of the court.

(e) Prohibition.--This section shall not apply to an
individual who:

(1) Has been designated as a sexually violent predator.

(2) Has been convicted of a sexually violent offense who
is required to register for a period of 15 years or a period
of 25 years.

(3) Has been convicted of a sexually violent offense who
is required to register for a period of life.

(4) 1Is a sexually violent delinquent child.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

Cross References. Section 9799.17 is referred to in section
9799.23 of this title.
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§ 9799.18. Information sharing.

(a) General rule.--The Pennsylvania State Police shall, within
three business days, make available information provided by an
individual set forth in section 9799.13 (relating to
applicability) under sections 9799.15(g) and (i) (relating to
period of registration), 9799.16(b) (relating to registry) and
9799.19 (relating to initial registration) to:

(1) A jurisdiction in which the individual is required to
register the individual®s residence, employment or enrollment
as a student.

(2) A jurisdiction in which the individual has terminated
the individual"s residence, employment or enrollment as a
student.

(3) The United States Attorney General, the Department of
Justice and the United States Marshals Service for inclusion
in the National Sex Offender Registry, NCIC and any other
database established by such Federal agencies.

(4) The district attorney of the county in which the
individual:

(i) establishes a residence or terminates a
residence, or is transient;

(ii) commences employment or terminates employment;
or

(iii) enrolls as a student or terminates enrollment
as a student.

(5) The chief law enforcement officer of the police
department of the municipality in which the individual:

(i) establishes a residence or terminates a
residence, or is transient;

(ii) commences employment or terminates employment;
or

(iii) enrolls as a student or terminates enrollment
as a student.

(6) The county office of probation and parole for the
county in which the individual:

(i) establishes a residence or terminates a
residence, or is transient;

(i1) commences employment or terminates employment;
or

(iii) enrolls as a student or terminates enrollment
as a student.

(b) When sexual offender fails to appear.--When another
jJurisdiction notifies this Commonwealth that a sexual offender
has terminated his residence, employment or enrollment as a
student in that jurisdiction and intends to establish a residence
in this Commonwealth, commence employment in this Commonwealth or
commence enrollment as a student in this Commonwealth and that
sexual offender fails to appear in this Commonwealth to register,
the Pennsylvania State Police shall notify the other jurisdiction
that the sexual offender failed to appear.

(c) International residence.--The Pennsylvania State Police
shall, within three business days, transfer information that a
sexual offender intends to establish residence in another country
to:
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(1) A jurisdiction in which the sexual offender is
required to register residence, employment or enrollment as a
student.

(2) The United States Marshals Service.

(3) The Department of Justice for inclusion in the
National Sex Offender Registry and NCIC.

(d) International travel.--The Pennsylvania State Police
shall, within three business days, transfer information about
international travel provided by the sexual offender under
section 9799.15(i) to:

(1) A jurisdiction in which the sexual offender is
required to register the sexual offender®"s residence, as a
transient, employment or enrollment as a student.

(2) The United States Marshals Service.

(3) The Department of Justice for inclusion in the
National Sex Offender Registry and NCIC.

(e) National Child Protection Act agencies.--The Pennsylvania
State Police shall, within three business days, transfer such
criminal history record information about a sexual offender in
the registry necessary to enable an agency responsible for
conducting employment-related background checks under section 3
of the National Child Protection Act of 1993 (Public Law 103-209,
42 U.S.C. 5119a) to conduct the background checks.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended subsecs. (&) intro. par., (4),
(5) and (6) and (d)(1).

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.18.

Cross References. Section 9799.18 is referred to in section
9799.32 of this title.
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§ 9799.19. Initial registration.

(a) General rule.--An individual set forth in section 9799.13
(relating to applicability) shall initially register with the
Pennsylvania State Police as set forth in this section.

(b) Initial registration if incarcerated within Commonwealth
or by Federal Court on effective date of section.--The following
apply:

(1) If the individual is, prior to the effective date of
this section, incarcerated in a Federal, State or county
correctional facility, the individual shall provide the
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) (relating to
registry) to the appropriate official of the Federal, State or
county correctional facility or the Pennsylvania Board of
Probation and Parole for inclusion in the registry before
being released due to:

(i) the expiration of sentence, in which case the
information shall be collected no later than ten days
prior to the maximum expiration date;

(ii) parole;

(iil) State or county intermediate punishment where
the sentence is restrictive and the individual is
sentenced to a period of incarceration in a State or
county correctional institution or a work release
facility; or

(iv) special probation supervised by the Pennsylvania
Board of Probation and Parole.

(2) For individuals set forth in paragraph (1), the
appropriate official of the Federal, State or county
correctional facility or the Pennsylvania Board of Probation
and Parole shall collect and forward the information in
section 9799.16(b) to the Pennsylvania State Police. The
appropriate official shall, in addition, ensure that the
information set forth in section 9799.16(c) is collected and
forwarded to the Pennsylvania State Police. The information in
section 9799.16(b) and (c) shall be included in the registry.
With respect to individuals released under paragraph (1)(ii),
(iii) or (iv), the State or county correctional facility shall
not release the individual until it receives verification from
the Pennsylvania State Police that it has received the
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and (c¢).
Verification may take place by electronic means. With respect
to individuals released under paragraph (1)(i), if the
individual refuses to provide the information set forth in
section 9799.16(b), the State or county correctional
institution shall notify the Pennsylvania State Police or the
municipal police department with jurisdiction over the
facility of the failure to provide the information and of the
expected date, time and location of the release of the
individual.

(b.1) Initial registration if sentenced to a county or State
correctional facility on or after the effective date of section.-
-1f the individual i1s, on or after the effective date of this
section, sentenced to a period of incarceration in a county or
State correctional facility, the individual shall provide the
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) as follows:

(1) At the time of sentencing, the court shall require the
individual to immediately report to the Office of Probation
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and Parole serving that county to register under this
subchapter. The appropriate office of probation and parole
shall collect the information set forth in section 9799.16(b)
from the individual and forward the information to the
Pennsylvania State Police. The appropriate office of probation
and parole shall, in addition, ensure the information set
forth in 9799.16(c) is collected and forwarded to the
Pennsylvania State Police. The information in section
9799.16(b) and (c) shall be included in the registry.

(2) If the individual is incarcerated in a State
correctional facility or county correctional facility, the
correctional facility shall notify the Pennsylvania State
Police, not more than 30 days in advance of, but not later
than ten days prior to, the individual®s release from the
correctional facility. The following apply:

(i) The correctional facility shall ensure that the
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and (c) for
the individual has been submitted to the Pennsylvania
State Police.

(i1) If the information has not been submitted to the
Pennsylvania State Police, the correctional facility shall
collect the information set forth in section 9799.16(b)
from the individual and forward the information to the
Pennsylvania State Police.

(iii) The correctional facility shall also report any
changes to the information set forth in section 9799.16(b)
and (c) on file with the Pennsylvania State Police.

(iv) In the case of parole, State or county
intermediate punishment where the sentence is restrictive
and the individual is sentenced to a period of
incarceration in a State or county correctional
institution or work release facility or special probation
supervised by the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and
Parole, the correctional facility may not release the
individual until the correctional facility receives
verification from the Pennsylvania State Police that the
Pennsylvania State Police has received the information set
forth in section 9799.16(b) and (c). Verification by the
Pennsylvania State Police may occur by electronic means.

(v) If the individual is scheduled to be released
from a State or county correctional institution due to the
expiration of sentence and the individual refuses to
provide the information set forth in section 9799.16(b),
the State or county correctional institution shall notify
the Pennsylvania State Police or the municipal police
department with jurisdiction over the facility of the
failure to provide the information and of the expected
date, time and location of the release of the individual.

(c) Initial registration if sentenced to county intermediate
punishment on effective date of section.--1f the individual is,
on the effective date of this section, sentenced to county
intermediate punishment which is restorative where the individual
is not sentenced to incarceration or to a work release facility,
the individual shall provide the information set forth in section
9799.16(b) by appearing at an approved registration site within
48 hours of the effective date of this section. The appropriate
official of the county office of probation and parole shall
ensure that the individual has appeared at an approved
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registration site as set forth in this subsection. If the
individual fails to appear, the appropriate official of the
county office of probation and parole shall notify the
Pennsylvania State Police. The Pennsylvania State Police shall
ensure the information set forth in section 9799.16(c) with
respect to the individual is collected and entered in the
registry.

(d) Initial registration if sentenced to county intermediate
punishment after effective date of section.--1f the individual
is, after the effective date of this section, sentenced to county
intermediate punishment, the following apply:

(1) If the individual is sentenced to county intermediate
punishment which is restorative, the individual shall provide
the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) by appearing
at an approved registration site within 48 hours of being
sentenced. The appropriate official of the county office of
probation and parole shall ensure that the individual has
appeared at an approved registration site as set forth in this
paragraph. 1f the individual fails to appear, the appropriate
official of the county office of probation and parole shall
notify the Pennsylvania State Police. The Pennsylvania State
Police shall ensure the information set forth in section
9799.16(c) with respect to the individual is collected and
entered in the registry.

(2) If the individual is sentenced to county intermediate
punishment which is restrictive where the individual is not
sentenced to incarceration or to a work release facility, the
individual shall provide the information set forth in section
9799.16(b) by appearing at an approved registration site
within 48 hours of being sentenced. The appropriate official
of the county office of probation and parole shall ensure that
the individual has appeared at an approved registration site
as set forth in this paragraph. ITf the individual fails to
appear, the appropriate official of the county office of
probation and parole shall notify the Pennsylvania State
Police. The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure the
information set forth in section 9799.16(c) with respect to
the individual is collected and entered in the registry.

(e) Initial registration if sentenced to county probation on
or after effective date of section.--If the individual is, on or
after the effective date of this section, sentenced to county
probation, the individual shall provide the information set forth
in section 9799.16(b) by appearing at an approved registration
site within 48 hours of being sentenced. The appropriate official
of the county office of probation and parole shall ensure that
the individual has appeared at an approved registration site as
set forth in this paragraph. If the individual fails to appear,
the appropriate official of the county office of probation and
parole shall notify the Pennsylvania State Police. The
Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure the information set forth
in section 9799.16(c) with respect to the individual is collected
and entered in the registry.

(e-1) Initial registration for county or Federal probationers
on the effective date of this section.--

(1) If the individual is, on the effective date of this
section, already serving a sentence of county probation, the
appropriate office of probation and parole serving the county
shall register the individual within 48 hours. The appropriate
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official of that office shall collect the information set

forth in section 9799.16(b) and forward that information to

the Pennsylvania State Police. The Pennsylvania State Police
shall ensure that the information set forth in section

9799.16(c) is collected. The information in section 9799.16(b)

and (c) shall be included in the registry. If the individual

fails to comply, the appropriate official of that office shall
notify the Pennsylvania State Police.

(2) If the individual is, on the effective date of this
section, already under the supervision of Federal probation
authorities for a sexually violent offense, the individual
shall provide the information set forth in section 9799.16(b)
by appearing at an approved registration site within 48 hours
of the effective date of this section.

(e.2) Initial registration for county or State parolees on the
effective date of this section.--

(1) If the individual is, on the effective date of this
section, already serving a sentence of county parole, the
appropriate office of probation and parole serving the county
shall register the individual within 48 hours. The appropriate
official of that office shall collect the information set
forth In section 9799.16(b) and forward that information to
the Pennsylvania State Police. The Pennsylvania State Police
shall ensure that the information set forth in section
9799.16(c) is collected. The information in section 9799.16(b)
and (c) shall be included in the registry. If the individual
fails to comply, the appropriate official of that office shall
notify the Pennsylvania State Police.

(2) If the individual is, on the effective date of this
section, already serving a sentence of State parole, the
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole shall register the
individual within 48 hours. The appropriate official of
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole shall collect the
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) from the
individual and forward the information to the Pennsylvania
State Police. The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that
the information set forth in section 9799.16(c) is collected.
The information in section 9799.16(b) and (c) shall be
included in the registry. If the individual fails to comply,
the appropriate official of the Pennsylvania Board of
Probation and Parole shall notify the Pennsylvania State
Police.

() Initial registration if being supervised by Commonwealth
under Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision.--1f an
individual is in this Commonwealth and is being supervised by the
State Board of Probation and Parole or the county office of
probation and parole pursuant to the Interstate Compact for Adult
Offender Supervision, the following apply:

(1) If the individual is being supervised under the
compact after the effective date of this section, the
individual shall provide the information set forth in section
9799.16(b) to the appropriate official of the State Board of
Probation and Parole or the county office of probation and
parole for inclusion in the registry. The appropriate official
shall collect the information set forth in section 9799.16(b)
and forward the information to the Pennsylvania State Police.
The appropriate official shall, in addition, ensure that the
information set forth in section 9799.16(c) is collected and
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forwarded to the Pennsylvania State Police. If the individual

fails to provide the information in section 9799.16(b), the

appropriate official of the State Board of Probation and

Parole or county office of probation and parole shall notify

the Pennsylvania State Police.

(2) If the individual is being supervised under the
compact on the effective date of this section, the individual
shall provide the information set forth in section 9799.16(b)
by appearing at an approved registration site within 48 hours
of the effective date of this section. The appropriate
official of the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole or
the county office of probation and parole shall ensure that
the individual has appeared at an approved registration site
as set forth in this paragraph. 1f the individual fails to
appear, the appropriate official shall notify the Pennsylvania
State Police. The appropriate official shall, in addition,
ensure the information set forth in section 9799.16(c) is
collected and forwarded to the Pennsylvania State Police.

(g9) Supervision of individual convicted in Commonwealth who
does not intend to reside in Commonwealth.--On or after the
effective date of this section, an individual convicted of a
sexually violent offense within this Commonwealth who seeks
transfer of supervision to another jurisdiction pursuant to the
Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision shall not have
supervision transferred to another jurisdiction prior to the
individual"s registration with the Pennsylvania State Police as
set forth in this section.

(h) Initial registration of juvenile offender or sexually
violent delinquent child.--

(1) If the individual is a juvenile offender who is
adjudicated delinquent by a court on or after the effective
date of this section, the following apply:

(i) The court shall require the individual to provide
the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) to the
chief juvenile probation officer of the court as follows:

(A) Except as set forth in clause (B), at the
time of disposition under section 6352 (relating to
disposition of delinquent child).

(B) At the time the individual is adjudicated
delinquent under section 6341 (relating to
adjudication) if:

(1) the adjudication of delinquency occurs in
any county other than the individual®s county of
residence; and

(11) the court intends to transfer the
individual"s case for disposition to the
individual"s county of residence under section
6321(c) (relating to commencement of proceedings).

(ii) The chief juvenile probation officer shall
collect the information in section 9799.16(b) and (c) and
forward it to the Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion
in the registry as directed by the Pennsylvania State
Police. IT the juvenile offender is, under section
6352(a)(3), subject to court-ordered placement in an
institution or facility which provides the juvenile with
24-hour-per-day supervision and care, the institution or
facility shall ensure the information provided by the
jJjuvenile offender pursuant to section 9799.16(b) is
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updated to reflect accurate information prior to release.

The institution or facility may not release the juvenile

offender until it receives verification from the

Pennsylvania State Police that the information required

under section 9799.16(b) and (c) has been entered in the

registry.

(2) 1T, on the effective date of this section, the
individual is a juvenile offender and is subject to the
jurisdiction of the court pursuant to a disposition entered
under section 6352 and is on probation or the individual is
otherwise being supervised in the community, including
placement in a foster family home or other residential setting
which provides the individual with less than 24-hour-per-day
supervision and care, the individual shall provide the
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) to the chief
juvenile probation officer of the court within 30 days of the
effective date of this section. The chief juvenile probation
officer shall collect the information set forth in section
9799.16(b) and (c) and forward it to the Pennsylvania State
Police for inclusion in the registry, as directed by the
Pennsylvania State Police.

(3) If the individual is, on the effective date of this
section, already a juvenile offender and is subject to the
jurisdiction of a court pursuant to a disposition entered
under section 6352 and is, under section 6352, subject to
court-ordered placement in an institution or facility which
provides the juvenile with 24-hour-per-day supervision and
care, the director of the institution or facility or a
designee shall make the juvenile offender available for and
facilitate the collection of the information set forth in
section 9799.16(b) and (c) as directed by the Pennsylvania
State Police for inclusion in the registry. The Pennsylvania
State Police may require the institution or facility to
transport the juvenile offender to and from an approved
registration site in order to fulfill the requirement of this
paragraph. In order to fulfill the requirements of this
paragraph, the chief juvenile probation officer of the court
shall, within ten days of the effective date of this section,
notify the director of the institution or facility and the
Pennsylvania State Police that the juvenile offender is
required to register under this subchapter. In addition, the
institution or facility shall ensure that the information
provided by the juvenile offender pursuant to section
9799.16(b) is updated to reflect accurate information prior to
release. The juvenile offender may not be released until the
institution or facility receives verification from the
Pennsylvania State Police that the information required under
section 9799.16(b) and (c) has been entered into the registry.

(4) If the individual is, on the effective date of this
section, already a sexually violent delinquent child and
receiving involuntary treatment in the State-owned facility or
unit under Chapter 64 (relating to court-ordered involuntary
treatment of certain sexually violent persons), the director
of the facility or unit or a designee shall make the sexually
violent delinquent child available for and facilitate the
collection of the information set forth in section 9799.16(b)
and (c) as directed by the Pennsylvania State Police for
inclusion in the registry. The Pennsylvania State Police may
require the facility or unit to transport the sexually violent
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delinquent child to and from an approved registration site in
order to fulfill the requirement of this paragraph. In
addition, the facility or unit shall ensure that the
information provided by the sexually violent delinquent child
pursuant to section 9799.16(b) is updated to reflect accurate
information prior to release. The facility or unit may not
transfer the sexually violent child to outpatient treatment
until it has received verification from the Pennsylvania State
Police that it has received the information set forth in
section 9799.16(b) and (c).

(5) If the individual is, on or after the effective date
of this section, determined by the court to be a sexually
violent delinquent child and committed for involuntary
treatment to the State-owned facility or unit under Chapter
64, the following apply:

(i) The court shall require the individual to provide
the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) to the
chief juvenile probation officer of the court at the time
of commitment. The chief juvenile probation officer shall
collect and forward the information to the Pennsylvania
State Police for inclusion in the registry. The chief
juvenile probation officer shall, at the time of
commitment, also ensure that the information set forth in
section 9799.16(c) is collected and forwarded to the
Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion in the registry.
The Pennsylvania State Police may require the facility or
unit to transport the sexually violent delinquent child to
and from an approved registration site in order to fulfill
the requirement of initial registration at the time of
commitment.

(ii) The facility or unit shall ensure that the
information provided by the sexually violent delinquent
child pursuant to section 9799.16(b) is updated to reflect
accurate information prior to transfer to involuntary
outpatient treatment pursuant to section 6404.1 (relating
to transfer to involuntary outpatient treatment) or
discharge. The court may not transfer the sexually violent
delinquent child to outpatient treatment or discharge the
child from the facility or unit until it has received
verification from the Pennsylvania State Police that the
information required under section 9799.16(b) and (c) has
been entered in the registry.

(i) Initial registration if convicted or adjudicated
delinquent outside Commonwealth.--

(1) An individual subject to registration under section
9799.13(7), (7.1) or (7-2) shall appear in person at an
approved registration site to provide the information set
forth in section 9799.16(b) to the Pennsylvania State Police
within three business days of establishing residence,
commencing employment or commencing enrollment as a student
within this Commonwealth. In addition, the individual shall
comply with the other provisions of this subchapter, including
section 9799.15 (relating to period of registration). If the
individual fails to establish a residence but nevertheless
resides in this Commonwealth, the individual shall register as
a transient. The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that
the information set forth in section 9799.16(c) with respect
to the individual is collected and entered in the registry.
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(2) If the individual is, on or after the effective date
of this section, a juvenile offender as defined in paragraph
(2) or (3) of the definition of "juvenile offender™ in section
9799.12 (relating to definitions), the individual shall appear
in person at an approved registration site to provide the
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) to the
Pennsylvania State Police within three business days of
establishing residence, commencing employment or commencing
enrollment as a student within this Commonwealth. In addition,
the individual shall comply with the other provisions of this
subchapter, including section 9799.15. If the individual fails
to establish a residence but nevertheless resides in this
Commonwealth, the individual shall register as a transient.
The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that the
information set forth in section 9799.16(c) with respect to
the individual is collected and entered in the registry.

(3) If the individual is, on or after the effective date
of this section, convicted of a sexually violent offense and
incarcerated iIn a Federal correctional institution or being
supervised by Federal probation authorities, the individual
shall appear in person at an approved registration site to
provide the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) to the
Pennsylvania State Police within three business days of
establishing residence, commencing employment or commencing
enrollment as a student in this Commonwealth. In addition, the
individual shall comply with other provisions of this
subchapter, including section 9799.15. If the individual fails
to establish a residence but nevertheless resides in this
Commonwealth, the individual shall register as a transient.
The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that the
information set forth in section 9799.16(c) with respect to
the individual is collected and entered into the registry.

() Former law and registration.--An individual subject to
registration under section 9799.13(3) shall appear at an approved
registration site to update registration or, if necessary, to
provide the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) to the
Pennsylvania State Police within 90 days of the effective date of
this section. In addition, the individual shall comply with the
other provisions of this subchapter, including section 9799.15.
IT the individual fails to establish a residence, the individual
shall register as a transient. The Pennsylvania State Police
shall ensure that the information set forth in section 9799.16(c)
with respect to the individual is collected and entered in the
registry.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended subsecs. (b), (b.1) intro.
par., (h), (i) and (J) and added subsecs. (e.-1) and (e.2).

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.19.

Cross References. Section 9799.19 is referred to in sections
9799.13, 9799.15, 9799.18, 9799.20, 9799.21, 9799.22, 9799.23,
9799.25, 9799.26, 9799.33, 9799.34 of this title; section 4915.1
of Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses).
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§ 9799.20. Duty to inform.

In order to implement the provisions of section 9799.19
(relating to initial registration), as appropriate, the
Pennsylvania State Police, the court having jurisdiction over the
sexual offender, the chief juvenile probation officer of the
court and the appropriate official of the Pennsylvania Board of
Probation and Parole, county office of probation and parole, the
Department of Public Welfare or a State or county correctional
institution shall:

(1) Inform the individual required to register of the
individual "s duties under this subchapter.

(2) Require the individual to read and sign a form stating
that the duty to register has been explained and that the
individual understands the registration requirement.

(3) Collect the information required under section 9799.16
(b) and (c¢) (relating to registry) and forward the information
to the Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion in the registry
as set forth in this subchapter.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended the intro. par.
2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.20.
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§ 9799.21. Penalty.

(a) Registration.--An individual set forth in section 9799.13
(relating to applicability) may be subject to prosecution under
18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1 (relating to failure to comply with
registration requirements) if the individual fails to:

(1) register with the Pennsylvania State Police as set
forth in section 9799.15 (relating to period of registration),
9799.19 (relating to initial registration) or 9799.25
(relating to verification by sexual offenders and Pennsylvania
State Police);

(2) verify the information provided by the individual or
be photographed as provided in sections 9799.15, 9799.19 and
9799.25; or

(3) provide accurate information when registering under
sections 9799.15, 9799.19 and 9799.25.

(b) Counseling.--A sexually violent predator or sexually
violent delinquent child may be subject to prosecution under 18
Pa.C.S. § 4915.1 if he fails to comply with section 9799.36
(relating to counseling of sexually violent predators).

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

Cross References. Section 9799.21 is referred to In section
9799.22 of this title.
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§ 9799.22. Enforcement.

(a) Failure to comply.--When an individual set forth in
section 9799.13 (relating to applicability) fails to comply with
section 9799.19 (relating to initial registration), 9799.21
(relating to penalty) or 9799.36 (relating to counseling of
sexually violent predators), the Pennsylvania State Police shall
either:

(1) In cooperation with the district attorney, seek
issuance of a warrant for the arrest of the individual and
locate and arrest the individual for violating this section.

(2) Notify the municipal police department where the
individual has a residence, is transient, is employed or is
enrolled as a student. The municipal police shall, in
cooperation with the district attorney, seek issuance of a
warrant for the arrest of the individual and locate and arrest
the individual for violating this section. In municipalities
where no municipal police department exists, the Pennsylvania
State Police shall proceed under paragraph (1).

(b) When individual cannot be found.--In the event the
individual cannot be located, the following apply:

(1) The Pennsylvania State Police shall enter information
on the Internet website of sexual offenders and in the
registry indicating that the individual cannot be located.

(2) The Pennsylvania State Police shall provide
information to the National Sex Offender Registry and NCIC to
reflect that the individual cannot be located.

(3) The Pennsylvania State Police shall notify the United
States Marshals Service.

(4) If a warrant is issued pursuant to this subsection,
the police department executing the warrant shall provide
information to the National Crime Information Center Wanted
Person File to reflect that a warrant has been issued for the
individual"s arrest.

(c) Notice from another jurisdiction.--When another
jJurisdiction notifies the Pennsylvania State Police that a sexual
offender has terminated residence, employment or enrollment as a
student in that jurisdiction and intends to establish a residence
in this Commonwealth, commence employment in this Commonwealth or
commence enrollment as a student in this Commonwealth and that
sexual offender fails to appear in this Commonwealth to register
as provided in section 9799.15 (relating to period of
registration), the Pennsylvania State Police shall notify the
other jurisdiction that the sexual offender failed to appear.
This subsection also applies to a transient who fails to appear.

(d) Duty to inform Pennsylvania State Police.--In order to
implement this subchapter, the court with jurisdiction over the
sexual offender, the chief juvenile probation officer of the
court and the appropriate official of the Pennsylvania Board of
Probation and Parole, the county office of probation and parole,
the Department of Public Welfare or a State or county
correctional institution shall inform the Pennsylvania State
Police if the individual refuses to provide the information
required by this subchapter so that the Pennsylvania State Police
may comply with this section.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)
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Cross References. Section 9799.22 is referred to in sections
9799.25, 9799.32 of this title.

Source: Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, 38 of 66
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/li/public/



Formatted by:

Pennsylvania State Police

Office of Chief Counsel

§ 9799.23. Court notification and classification requirements.

(a) Notice to sexual offenders.--At the time of sentencing, of

disposition in the case of a juvenile offender or of commitment
in the case of a sexually violent delinquent child, the court
shall inform the sexual offender of the provisions of this
subchapter. The court shall:

(1) Specifically inform the sexual offender of the duty to
register under this subchapter.

(2) Specifically inform the sexual offender of:

(i) the duty to register in accordance with sections
9799.15 (relating to period of registration), 9799.16(b)
(relating to registry), 9799.19 (relating to initial
registration) and 9799.25 (relating to verification by
sexual offenders and Pennsylvania State Police); and

(ii) the duty to attend counseling iIn accordance
with:

(A) section 9799.36 (relating to counseling of
sexually violent predators) if applicable; or

(B) section 6404.2(g) (relating to duration of
outpatient commitment and review) if applicable.

(3) Specifically inform the sexual offender of the duty to
register with authorities in another jurisdiction within three
business days of:

(i) Commencement of residence, change of residence,
termination of residence or failure to maintain a
residence, thus making the sexual offender a transient.

(i1) Commencement of employment, a change in the
location or entity in which the sexual offender is
employed or termination of employment.

(iii) Commencement of enrollment as a student, a
change in enrollment as a student or termination of
enrollment as a student.

(4) In accordance with section 9799.16(c), order that the
fingerprints, palm prints, DNA sample and photograph of the
sexual offender be provided to the Pennsylvania State Police
upon sentencing.

(5) Require the sexual offender to read and sign a form
stating that the duty to register under this subchapter has
been explained. If the sexual offender is incapable of
speaking, reading or writing the English language, the court
shall certify the duty to register was explained to the sexual
offender, and the sexual offender indicated an understanding
of the duty.

(6) Specifically classify the individual as one of the
following:

(i) An individual convicted of a Tier 1 offense.

(ii) An individual convicted of a Tier 11 offense.

(iii) An individual convicted of a Tier 111 offense.

(iv) A sexually violent predator.

(v) A juvenile offender.

(vi) A sexually violent delinquent child.

(b) Mandatory registration.--All sexual offenders must

register in accordance with this subchapter. The following apply:

(1) Failure by the court to provide the information
required in this section, to correctly inform a sexual
offender of the sexual offender®s obligations or to require a
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sexual offender to register shall not relieve the sexual
offender from the requirements of this subchapter.

(2) Except as provided in section 9799.17 (relating to
termination of period of registration for juvenile offenders),
the court shall have no authority to relieve a sexual offender
from the duty to register under this subchapter or to modify
the requirements of this subchapter as they relate to the
sexual offender.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended subsec. (&) intro. par. and
).

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.23.

Cross References. Section 9799.23 is referred to In sections
9799.16, 9799.40 of this title.

Source: Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes,
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/li/public/

40 of 66



Formatted by:
Pennsylvania State Police
Office of Chief Counsel October 25, 2012

§ 9799.24. Assessments.

(a) Order for assessment.--After conviction but before
sentencing, a court shall order an individual convicted of a
sexually violent offense to be assessed by the board. The order
for an assessment shall be sent to the administrative officer of
the board within ten days of the date of conviction for the
sexually violent offense.

(b) Assessment.--Upon receipt from the court of an order for
an assessment, a member of the board as designated by the
administrative officer of the board shall conduct an assessment
of the individual to determine if the individual should be
classified as a sexually violent predator. The board shall
establish standards for evaluations and for evaluators conducting
the assessments. An assessment shall include, but not be limited
to, an examination of the following:

(1) Facts of the current offense, including:

(i) Whether the offense involved multiple victims.

(i1) Whether the individual exceeded the means
necessary to achieve the offense.

(iii) The nature of the sexual contact with the
victim.

(iv) Relationship of the individual to the victim.

(v) Age of the victim.

(vi) Whether the offense included a display of
unusual cruelty by the individual during the commission of
the crime.

(vii) The mental capacity of the victim.

(2) Prior offense history, including:

(i) The individual®s prior criminal record.

(ii) Whether the individual completed any prior
sentences.

(ii1) Whether the individual participated in
available programs for sexual offenders.

(3) Characteristics of the individual, including:

(i) Age.

(ii) Use of illegal drugs.

(iii) Any mental illness, mental disability or mental
abnormality.

(iv) Behavioral characteristics that contribute to
the individual"s conduct.

(4) Factors that are supported in a sexual offender
assessment field as criteria reasonably related to the risk of
reoffense.

(c) Release of information.--All State, county and local
agencies, offices and entities in this Commonwealth, including
Juvenile probation officers, shall cooperate by providing copies
of records and information as requested by the board in
connection with the court-ordered assessment and the assessment
requested by the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole or
the assessment of a delinquent child under section 6358 (relating
to assessment of delinguent children by the State Sexual
Offenders Assessment Board).

(d) Submission of report by board.--The board shall have 90
days from the date of conviction of the individual to submit a
written report containing its assessment to the district
attorney.
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(d.1) Summary of offense.--The board shall prepare a
description of the offense or offenses that trigger the
application of this subchapter to include, but not be limited to:

(1) A concise narrative of the individual®s conduct.

(2) Whether the victim was a minor.

(3) The manner of weapon or physical force used or
threatened.

(4) If the offense involved unauthorized entry into a room
or vehicle occupied by the victim.

(5) If the offense was part of a course or pattern of
conduct involving multiple incidents or victims.

(6) Previous instances in which the individual was
determined guilty of an offense subject to this subchapter or
of a crime of violence as defined in section 9714(g) (relating
to sentences for second and subsequent offenses).

(e) Hearing.--

(1) A hearing to determine whether the individual is a
sexually violent predator shall be scheduled upon the praecipe
filed by the district attorney. The district attorney upon
filing a praecipe shall serve a copy of the praecipe upon
defense counsel together with a copy of the report of the
board.

(2) The individual and district attorney shall be given
notice of the hearing and an opportunity to be heard, the
right to call witnesses, the right to call expert witnesses
and the right to cross-examine witnesses. In addition, the
individual shall have the right to counsel and to have an
attorney appointed to represent the individual if the
individual cannot afford one. If the individual requests
another expert assessment, the individual shall provide a copy
of the expert assessment to the district attorney prior to the
hearing.

(3) At the hearing prior to sentencing, the court shall
determine whether the Commonwealth has proved by clear and
convincing evidence that the individual is a sexually violent
predator.

(4) A copy of the order containing the determination of
the court shall be immediately submitted to the individual,
the district attorney, the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and
Parole, the Department of Corrections, the board and the
Pennsylvania State Police.

() Presentence investigation.--In all cases where the board
has performed an assessment under this section, copies of the
report shall be provided to the agency preparing the presentence
investigation.

(g) Parole assessment.--The Pennsylvania Board of Probation
and Parole may request of the board that an assessment of a
sexual offender be conducted and that a report be provided to the
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole prior to considering a
sexual offender for parole.

(h) Delinquent children.--The probation officer shall notify
the board 90 days prior to the 20th birthday of the child of the
status of the delinquent child who is committed to an institution
or other facility pursuant to section 6352 (relating to
disposition of delinquent child) after having been found
delinquent for an act of sexual violence that if committed by an
adult would be a violation of 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to
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rape), 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual intercourse),
3124.1 (relating to sexual assault), 3125 (relating to aggravated
indecent assault), 3126 (relating to indecent assault) or 4302
(relating to incest), together with the location of the facility
where the child is committed. The board shall conduct an
assessment of the child, which shall include the board®"s
determination of whether or not the child is in need of
commitment due to a mental abnormality as defined in section 6402
(relating to definitions) or a personality disorder, either of
which results in serious difficulty in controlling sexually
violent behavior, and provide a report to the court within the
time frames set forth in section 6358(c). The probation officer
shall assist the board in obtaining access to the child and any
records or information as requested by the board in connection
with the assessment. The assessment shall be conducted under
subsection (b).

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year)

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.24.
Cross References. Section 9799.24 is referred to iIn sections
9799.12, 9799.15 of this title.
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§ 9799.25. Verification by sexual offenders and Pennsylvania

State Police.

(a) Periodic verification.--Except for initial registration as

provided in section 9799.19 (relating to initial registration)
and in accordance with section 9799.15(a) (relating to period of
registration), sexual offenders shall verify the information
provided in section 9799.16(b) (relating to registry) and be
photographed as follows:

(1) An individual convicted of a Tier I sexual offense
shall appear in person at an approved registration site
annually.

(2) An individual convicted of a Tier Il sexual offense
shall appear iIn person at an approved registration site
semiannually.

(3) An individual convicted of a Tier 11l sexual offense
shall appear in person at an approved registration site
quarterly.

(4) An individual designated as a sexually violent
predator shall appear in person at an approved registration
site quarterly.

(5) A juvenile offender shall appear in person at an
approved registration site quarterly.

(6) A sexually violent delinquent child shall appear in
person at an approved registration site quarterly.

(7) A transient shall appear In person at an approved
registration site monthly.

(8) An individual required to register under section
9799.13(7.1) (relating to applicability) shall annually appear
in person at an approved registration site.

(b) Deadline.--The following apply:

(1) A sexual offender shall appear as required under
subsection (@) within ten days before the date designated by
the Pennsylvania State Police. Failure to appear within ten
days may subject the sexual offender to prosecution under 18
Pa.C.S. § 4915.1 (relating to failure to comply with
registration requirements).

(2) In the case of a sexual offender who fails to appear
as required under this section, the Pennsylvania State Police
shall notify the municipal police department where the sexual
offender has a residence, is employed or is enrolled as a
student. The municipal police shall locate the sexual offender
and arrest the sexual offender for violating this section. A
municipal police department may request assistance locating or
arresting a sexual offender from the Pennsylvania State
Police. In municipalities where no municipal police department
exists, the Pennsylvania State Police shall locate the
offender and arrest the sexual offender for violating this
section.

(3) In the case of a sexual offender who fails to appear
as required under this section, the Pennsylvania State Police
shall notify the United States Marshals Service in accordance
with section 9799.22(b)(3) (relating to enforcement).

(c) Facilitation of verification.--The Pennsylvania State

Police shall administer and facilitate the process of
verification of information, including compliance with counseling
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in the case of sexually violent predators and sexually violent
delinquent children, and photographing the sexual offender by:

(1) Sending a notice by first class United States mail to
each sexual offender at the last reported location where the
offender receives mail. The notice shall be sent not more than
30 days nor less than 15 days prior to the date a sexual
offender is required to appear pursuant to subsection (a). The
notice shall remind the sexual offender of the sexual
offender”s responsibilities under this subchapter, including
counseling in the case of sexually violent predators and
sexually violent delinquent children, and provide a list of
approved registration sites.

(2) Providing verification and compliance forms as
necessary at each approved registration site.

(d) Effect of notice.--Failure to send or receive notice of
information under this section shall not relieve the sexual
offender from the requirements of this subchapter.

(e) Natural disaster.--The occurrence of a natural disaster or
other event requiring evacuation of residences shall not relieve
the sexual offender of the duty to register or any other duty
imposed by this subchapter.

() Residents in group-based homes.--

(1) A group-based home may not provide concurrent
residence in the group-based home to more than five
individuals who are required to register under this chapter as
sexually violent predators.

(2) A group-based home that violates paragraph (1) shall
be subject to a civil penalty in the amount of $2,500 for a
first violation and in the amount of $5,000 for a second or
subsequent violation.

(3) The Pennsylvania State Police or local law enforcement
agency of jurisdiction shall investigate compliance with this
subsection, and the Attorney General or district attorney may
commence a civil action in the court of common pleas of the
county in which a group-based home is located to impose and
collect from the group-based home the penalty under paragraph
).

(4) As used in this subsection, the term "group-based
home" has the meaning given to it in 61 Pa.C.S. § 6124(c)
(relating to certain offenders residing in group-based homes).

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended subsecs. (b)(1) and (c) intro.
par. and (1).

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.25.

Cross References. Section 9799.25 is referred to in sections
9799.13, 9799.21, 9799.23, 9799.32 of this title; section 4915.1
of Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses).
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§ 9799.26. Victim notification.

(a) Duty to inform victim.--

(1) If an offender is determined to be a sexually violent
predator or a sexually violent delinquent child, the municipal
police department or the Pennsylvania State Police, if no
municipal police jurisdiction exists, shall give written
notice to the victim when the sexually violent predator or the
sexually violent delinquent child registers initially under
section 9799.19 (relating to initial registration) or under
section 9799.15(g)(2), (3) or (4) (relating to period of
registration). The notice shall be given within 72 hours after
the sexually violent predator or the sexually violent
delinquent child registers or notifies the Pennsylvania State
Police of current information under section 9799.15(g). The
notice shall contain the following information about the
sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent
child:

(i) Name.

(ii) Residence. This subparagraph includes whether
the sexually violent predator or sexually violent
delinquent child is a transient, In which case the notice
shall contain information about the transient®s temporary
habitat or other temporary place of abode or dwelling,
including, but not limited to, a homeless shelter or park.
In addition, the notice shall contain a list of places the
transient eats, frequents and engages in leisure
activities.

(iii) The address of employment.

(iv) The address where the sexually violent predator
or sexually violent delinquent child is enrolled as a
student.

(2) A victim may terminate the duty to inform set forth in
paragraph (1) by providing the local municipal police
department or the Pennsylvania State Police, if no local
municipal police department exists, with a written statement
releasing that agency from the duty to comply with this
section as it pertains to that victim.

(b) Individual not determined to be sexually violent predator
or sexually violent delinquent child.--1f an individual is not
determined to be a sexually violent predator or a sexually
violent delinquent child, the victim shall be notified in
accordance with section 201 of the act of November 24, 1998
(P.L.882, No.111), known as the Crime Victims Act.

(c) Electronic notification option.--In addition to
subsections (a) and (b), the Pennsylvania State Police shall
develop and implement a system that allows a victim to receive
electronic notification instead of the notification in
subsections (a) and (b) when a sexual offender provides current
information to the Pennsylvania State Police under subsection

@-

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended subsec. (a)(1)(ii) and carried
without amendment subsec. (a)(1)(i).
2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.26.
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§ 9799.27. Other notification.

(a) Notice.--Notwithstanding the provisions of Chapter 63
(relating to juvenile matters) and 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 91 (relating to
criminal history record information), the chief law enforcement
officer of the police department of the municipality where a
sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent child
lives or, in the case of a sexually violent predator or sexually
violent delinquent child failing to establish a residence and
being a transient, the chief law enforcement officer of the
police department of the transient"s last known habitat, shall be
responsible for providing written notice as required under this
section. The notice shall contain:

(1) The name of the individual.

(2) The address of the residence of the individual. 1f the
individual is a transient, written notice under this paragraph
shall consist of information about the transient"s temporary
habitat or other temporary place of abode or dwelling,
including, but not limited to, a homeless shelter or park, and
a list of the places the transient eats, frequents and engages
in leisure activities.

(3) The offense for which the individual was convicted,
sentenced by a court, adjudicated delinquent or court
martialed.

(4) A statement that the individual has been determined to
be a sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent
child, which determination has or has not been terminated as
of a date certain.

(5) A photograph of the sexually violent predator or
sexually violent delinquent child.

The notice shall not include any information that might reveal
the victim"s name, identity and residence.

(b) To whom written notice is provided.--The chief law
enforcement officer shall provide written notice under subsection
(a) to the following persons:

(1) Neighbors of the sexually violent predator or sexually
violent delinquent child. As used in this paragraph:

(i) In the case of a sexually violent predator or
sexually violent delinquent child being a transient,
"neighbor™ includes residents in the area of the
transient™s last known temporary habitat or other
temporary place of abode or dwelling, including, but not
limited to, a homeless shelter or park.

(ii) Where the sexually violent predator lives in a
common interest community, the term "neighbor' includes
the unit owners® association and residents of the common
interest community.

(2) The director of the county children and youth agency
of the county where the sexually violent predator or sexually
violent delinquent child has a residence or, in the case of a
sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent child
failing to establish a residence and being a transient, the
director of the county children and youth agency of the county
of the sexually violent predator®"s or sexually violent
delinquent child"s last known temporary habitat or other
temporary place of abode or dwelling, including, but not
limited to, a homeless shelter or park.
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(3) The superintendent of each school district and the
equivalent official for each private and parochial school
enrolling students up through grade 12 in the municipality
where the sexually violent predator or sexually violent
delinquent child has a residence or, in the case of a sexually
violent predator or sexually violent delinquent child failing
to establish a residence and being a transient, the
superintendent of each school district and the equivalent
official for private and parochial schools enrolling students
up through grade 12 in the municipality of the sexually
violent predator®™s or sexually violent delinquent child"s last
known temporary habitat or other temporary place of abode or
dwelling, including, but not limited to, a homeless shelter or
park.

(4) The superintendent of each school district and the
equivalent official for each private and parochial school
located within a one-mile radius of where the sexually violent
predator or sexually violent delinquent child has a residence
or, In the case of a sexually violent predator or sexually
violent delinquent child failing to establish a residence and
being a transient, the superintendent of each school district
and the equivalent official for each private and parochial
school within a one-mile radius of the sexually violent
predator®s or sexually violent delinquent child®"s last known
temporary habitat or other temporary place of abode or
dwelling, including, but not limited to, a homeless shelter or
park.

(5) The licensee of each certified day-care center and
licensed preschool program and owner or operator of each
registered family day-care home in the municipality where the
sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent child
has a residence or, in the case of a sexually violent predator
or sexually violent delinquent child failing to establish a
residence and being a transient, the licensee of each
certified day-care center and licensed preschool program and
owner or operator of each registered family day-care home 1in
the municipality of the sexually violent predator®s or
sexually violent delinquent child®s last known temporary
habitat or other temporary place of abode or dwelling,
including, but not limited to, a homeless shelter or park.

(6) The president of each college, university and
community college located within 1,000 feet of where the
sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent child
has a residence or, in the case of a sexually violent predator
or sexually violent delinquent child failing to establish a
residence and being a transient, the president of each
college, university and community college located within 1,000
feet of the sexually violent predator®s or sexually violent
delinquent child®s last known temporary habitat or other
temporary place of abode or dwelling, including, but not
limited to, a homeless shelter or park.

(c) Notification time frames.--The municipal police

department®s chief law enforcement officer shall provide notice
within the following time frames:

(1) To neighbors, notice shall be provided within five
days after information of the sexually violent predator®s or
sexually violent delinquent child"s release date and residence
has been received by the chief law enforcement officer.
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Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (a) and (b),

verbal notification may be used if written notification would

delay meeting the requirement of this paragraph.

(2) To the persons specified in subsection (b)(2), (3),

(4), (5) and (6), notice shall be provided within seven days

after the chief law enforcement officer receives information

regarding the sexually violent predator®s or sexually violent

delinquent child"s release date and residence.

(d) Public notice.--Information provided in accordance with
subsection (a) shall be available to the general public upon
request. The information may be provided by electronic means.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended subsecs. (a)(2) and (b) and
carried without amendment subsec. (a) last sentence.

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.27.

Cross References. Section 9799.27 is referred to in section
9799.31, 9799.32 of this title.
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§ 9799.28. Public Internet website.

(a) Information to be made available through Internet.--The
Pennsylvania State Police shall, in the manner and form directed
by the Governor:

(1) Develop and maintain a system for making information
about individuals convicted of a sexually violent offense,
sexually violent predators and sexually violent delinquent
children publicly available by electronic means via an
Internet website. In order to fulfill its duties under this
section, the Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that the
Internet website:

(i) Contains a feature to permit a member of the
public to obtain relevant information for an individual
convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually
violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child by
a query of the Internet website based on search criteria
including searches for any given zip code or geographic
radius set by the user.

(ii) Contains a feature to allow a member of the
public to receive electronic notification when an
individual convicted of a sexually violent offense,
sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent
child provides information under section 9799.15(9)(2),
(3) or (4) (relating to period of registration). This
feature shall also allow a member of the public to receive
electronic notification when the individual convicted of a
sexually violent offense, sexually violent predator or
sexually violent delinquent child moves into or out of a
geographic area chosen by the user.

(iii) Includes in its design all field search
capabilities needed for full participation in the Dru
Sjodin National Sex Offender Public Internet Website. The
Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that the website is
able to participate in the Dru Sjodin National Sex
Offender Public Internet Website as the United States
Attorney General may direct.

(iv) Is updated within three business days with the
information required.

(2) Include on the Internet website the following:

(i) Instructions on how to seek correction of
information that an individual contends is erroneous.

(ii) A warning that the information on the Internet
website should not be used to unlawfully injure, harass or
commit a crime against an individual convicted of a
sexually violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a
sexually violent delinquent child and that any such action
could result in criminal or civil penalties.

(3) Include on the Internet website an explanation of its
limitations, including statements advising that:

(i) A positive identification of an individual
convicted of a sexually violent offense, sexually violent
predator or sexually violent delinquent child may be
confirmed only by fingerprints.

(ii) Some information contained on the Internet
website may be outdated or inaccurate.
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(iii) The Internet website is not a comprehensive
listing of every person who has ever committed a sexual
offense in Pennsylvania.

(4) Strive to ensure that the information contained on the
Internet website is accurate and that the data therein is
revised and updated as provided in paragraph (1)(iv).

(5) Provide on the Internet website general information
designed to inform and educate the public about sexual
offenders and the operation of this subchapter as well as
pertinent and appropriate information concerning crime
prevention and personal safety, with appropriate links to
other relevant Internet websites operated by the Commonwealth.
(b) Required information.--Notwithstanding Chapter 63

(relating to juvenile matters) and 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 91 (relating to
criminal history record information), the Internet website shall
contain the following information regarding an individual
convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually violent
predator or a sexually violent delinquent child:

(1) Name and aliases.

(2) Year of birth.

(3) Street address, municipality, county, State and zip
code of residences and intended residences. In the case of an
individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually
violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child who
fails to establish a residence and is therefore a transient,
the Internet website shall contain information about the
transient®s temporary habitat or other temporary place of
abode or dwelling, including, but not limited to, a homeless
shelter or park. In addition, the Internet website shall
contain a list of places the transient eats, frequents and
engages In leisure activities.

(4) Street address, municipality, county, State and zip
code of any location at which an individual convicted of a
sexually violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a
sexually violent delinquent child is enrolled as a student.

(5) Street address, municipality, county, State and zip
code of a fixed location where an individual convicted of a
sexually violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a
sexually violent delinquent child is employed. If an
individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually
violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child is not
employed at a fixed address, the information shall include
general areas of work.

(6) Current facial photograph of an individual convicted
of a sexually violent offense, a sexually violent predator or
a sexually violent delinquent child. This paragraph requires,
if available, the last eight facial photographs taken of the
individual and the date each photograph was entered into the
registry.

(7) Physical description of an individual convicted of a
sexually violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a
sexually violent delinquent child.

(8) License plate number and a description of a vehicle
owned or operated by an individual convicted of a sexually
violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually
violent delinquent child.

(9) Offense for which an individual convicted of a
sexually violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a
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sexually violent delinquent child is registered under this

subchapter and other sexually violent offenses for which the

individual was convicted.

(10) A statement whether an individual convicted of a
sexually violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a
sexually violent delinquent child is in compliance with
registration.

(11) A statement whether the victim is a minor.

(12) Date on which the individual convicted of a sexually
violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually
violent delinquent child is made active within the registry
and date when the individual most recently updated
registration information.

(13) Indication as to whether the individual is a sexually
violent predator, sexually violent delinquent child or
convicted of a Tier I, Tier 11 or Tier 111 sexual offense.

(14) 1f applicable, indication that an individual
convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually violent
predator or a sexually violent delinquent child is
incarcerated or committed or is a transient.

(c) Prohibited information.--The public Internet website
established under this section shall not contain:

(1) The identity of any victim.

(2) The Social Security number of an individual convicted
of a sexually violent offense, a sexually violent predator or
a sexually violent delinquent child.

(3) Any information relating to arrests of an individual
convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually violent
predator or a sexually violent delinquent child that did not
result in conviction.

(4) Travel and immigration document numbers.

(d) (Reserved).

(e) Duration of posting.--The information listed in subsection
(b) shall be made available on the Internet website unless an
individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually
violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child is
deceased or is no longer required to register under this
subchapter.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

2012Amendment. Act 91 amended subsecs. (a)(1)(i) and (ii),
GB), 1), B), (6) and (9) and (e) and added subsec. (b)(12),
(13) and (14).

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.28. See section
17(1) (i) of Act 111 in the appendix to this title for special
provisions relating to applicability.
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§ 9799.29. Administration.

The Governor shall direct the Pennsylvania State Police, the
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the board, the
Department of Corrections, the Department of Transportation and
any other agency of the Commonwealth that the Governor deems
necessary to collaboratively design, develop and implement an
integrated and secure system of communication, storage and
retrieval of information to assure the timely, accurate and
efficient administration of this subchapter.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year)

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.29.
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§ 9799.30. Global positioning system technology.

The Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole and county
probation authorities may impose supervision conditions that
include tracking through global positioning system technology.
(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year)

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.30.
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§ 9799.31. Immunity for good faith conduct.

The following entities shall be immune from liability for good
faith conduct under this subchapter:

(1) Agents and employees of the Pennsylvania State Police
and local law enforcement agencies.

(2) District attorneys and their agents and employees.

(3) Superintendents, administrators, teachers, employees
and volunteers engaged in the supervision of children of any
public, private or parochial school.

(4) Directors and employees of county children and youth
agencies.

(5) Presidents or similar officers of universities and
colleges, including community colleges.

(6) The Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole and its
agents and employees.

(7) County probation and parole offices and their agents
and employees.

(8) Licensees of certified day-care centers and directors
of licensed preschool programs and owners and operators of
registered family day-care homes and their agents and
employees.

(9) The Department of Corrections and its agents and
employees.

(10) County correctional facilities and their agents and
employees.

(11) The board and its members, agents and employees.

(12) Juvenile probation offices and their agents and
employees.

(13) The Department of Public Welfare and its agents and
employees.

(14) Institutions or facilities set forth in section
6352(a)(3) (relating to disposition of delinquent child) and
their agents and employees.

(15) The unit owners® association of a common interest
community and its agents and employees as it relates to
distributing information regarding section 9799.27(b) (1)
(relating to other notification).

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year)

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.31.
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§ 9799.32. Pennsylvania State Police.

The Pennsylvania State Police have the following duties:

(1) To create and maintain the Statewide registry of
sexual offenders in conformity with the provisions of this
subchapter.

(2) In consultation with the Department of Corrections,
the Office of Attorney General, the Juvenile Court Judges”
Commission, the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts,
the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole and the
chairman and minority chairman of the Judiciary Committee of
the Senate and the chairman and minority chairman of the
Judiciary Committee of the House of Representatives, to
promulgate guidelines necessary for the general administration
of this subchapter. These guidelines shall establish
procedures to allow an individual subject to the requirements
of this subchapter, including a transient, to fulfill these
requirements at approved registration sites throughout this
Commonwealth. The Pennsylvania State Police shall publish a
list of approved registration sites in the Pennsylvania
Bulletin and provide a list of approved registration sites in
any notice sent to individuals required to register under this
subchapter. An approved registration site shall be capable of
submitting fingerprints, palm prints, DNA samples and any
other information required electronically to the Pennsylvania
State Police. The Pennsylvania State Police shall require that
approved registration sites submit fingerprints utilizing the
Integrated Automated Fingerprint ldentification System or in
another manner and in such form as the Pennsylvania State
Police shall require. Approved registration sites shall not be
limited to sites managed by the Pennsylvania State Police and
shall include sites managed by local law enforcement agencies
that meet the criteria for approved registration sites set
forth in this paragraph.

(3) To write guidelines regarding neighbor notification
under section 9799.27(b)(1) (relating to other notification).

(4) Within three business days, to transfer information as
set forth in section 9799.18 (relating to information
sharing).

(5) To enforce the provisions of this subchapter as set
forth in section 9799.22 (relating to enforcement).

(6) To facilitate verification of information from
individuals required to register under this subchapter as
provided in section 9799.25 (relating to verification by
sexual offenders and Pennsylvania State Police).

(7) In consultation with the Department of Education and
the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, to promulgate
guidelines directing licensed day-care centers, licensed
preschool programs, schools, universities and colleges,
including community colleges, on the proper use and
administration of information received under section 9799.27.

(8) In consultation with the Department of Corrections and
the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, to promulgate
guidelines directing State and county correctional facilities
and State and county probation and parole offices regarding
the completion of information, including the taking of
photographs, required by sexual offenders under this
subchapter.

Source: Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, 56 of 66
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(9) In consultation with the Administrative Office of
Pennsylvania Courts, the Department of Public Welfare and the
Juvenile Court Judges®™ Commission, to promulgate guidelines
regarding the completion of information required by juvenile
offenders and sexually violent delinquent children under this

subchapter.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. imd.)

2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended par. (3).
2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.32.

Source: Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes,
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/li/public/
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§ 9799.33. Duties of probation and parole officials.

(a) Duties.--The Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole,
the county office of probation and parole and the chief juvenile
probation officer of the court shall:

(1) Perform their respective duties set forth for the
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the county office
of probation and parole and the chief juvenile probation
officer of the court in accordance with section 9799.19
(relating to initial registration).

(2) On a form prescribed by the Pennsylvania State Police,
notify the Pennsylvania State Police each time a sexual
offender is arrested, recommitted to a State or county
correctional institution for a parole violation or
incarcerated.

(b) Notification form.--The Pennsylvania Board of Probation
and Parole shall create a notification form which will inform
State and county prison and probation and parole personnel how to
inform sexual offenders of their duties under this subchapter. In
addition, the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole shall
apply for Federal funding as provided in the Adam Walsh Child
Protection and Safety Act of 2006 (Public Law 109-248, 120 Stat.
587) to support and enhance programming using global satellite
positioning system technology.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year)

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.33.
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§ 9799.34. Duties of facilities housing sexual offenders.

The Department of Corrections, a county correctional facility,
an institution or facility set forth in section 6352(a)(3)
(relating to disposition of delinquent child) and the separate,
State-owned facility or unit established under Chapter 64
(relating to court-ordered involuntary treatment of certain
sexually violent persons) shall have the following duties:

(1) To perform their respective duties in accordance with
section 9799.19 (relating to initial registration). This
paragraph includes taking a current photograph of the
individual required to register under this subchapter before
the individual is released from confinement or commitment or
is discharged.

(2) On a form prescribed by the Pennsylvania State Police,
to notify the Pennsylvania State Police each time a sexual
offender is incarcerated, committed or released, including
supervised release. In the case of a juvenile offender or
sexually violent delinquent child, the facility shall notify
the Pennsylvania State Police each time the individual is
committed, released or transferred to another facility or
institution. This paragraph shall include a community
corrections center or community contract facility.

(3) To assist sexual offenders registering under this
subchapter.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended par. (2).
2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.34.
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§ 9799.35. Board.

(a) Composition.--The board shall be composed of
psychiatrists, psychologists and criminal justice experts, each
of whom is an expert in the field of the behavior and treatment
of sexual offenders.

(b) Appointment.--The Governor shall appoint the board
members.

(c) Term of office.--Members of the board shall serve four-
year terms.

(d) Compensation.--The members of the board shall be
compensated at a rate of $350 per assessment and receive
reimbursement for their actual and necessary expenses while
performing the business of the board. The chairman shall receive
$500 additional compensation annually.

(e) Staff.--Support staff for the board shall be provided by
the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111l, eff. one year)

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.35.
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§ 9799.36. Counseling of sexually violent predators.

(a) General rule.--A sexually violent predator who is not
incarcerated shall be required to attend at least monthly
counseling sessions in a program approved by the board and be
financially responsible for all fees assessed from the counseling
sessions. The board shall monitor the compliance of the sexually
violent predator. If the sexually violent predator can prove to
the satisfaction of the court that the sexually violent predator
cannot afford to pay for the counseling sessions, the sexually
violent predator shall nonetheless attend the counseling
sessions, and the parole office shall pay the requisite fees.

(b) Designation in another jurisdiction.--1f an individual
required to register under this subchapter has been designated as
a sexually violent predator in another jurisdiction and was
required to undergo counseling, the individual shall be subject
to the provisions of this section.

(c) Penalty.--A sexually violent predator who knowingly fails
to attend counseling sessions as provided in this section may be
subject to prosecution under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1 (relating to
failure to comply with registration requirements).

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year; July 5, 2012,
P.L.880, No.91, eff. Dec. 20, 2012)

2012 Amendment. Act 91 amended subsec. (a).-

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.36.

Cross References. Section 9799.36 is referred to iIn sections
9718.1, 9799.16, 9799.21, 9799.22, 9799.23 of this title; section
4915.1 of Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses).
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§ 9799.37. Exemption from notification for certain licensees and
their employees.

Nothing in this subchapter shall be construed as imposing a
duty upon a person licensed under the act of February 19, 1980
(P.L.15, No.9), known as the Real Estate Licensing and
Registration Act, or an employee of the person, to disclose any
information regarding an individual required to be included in
the registry pursuant to this subchapter.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year)

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.37.
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§ 9799.38. Annual performance audit.

(a) Duties of the Attorney General.--The Attorney General has
the following duties:

(1) To conduct a performance audit annually to determine
compliance with the requirements of this subchapter and any
guidelines promulgated under this subchapter. The audit shall,
at a minimum, include a review of the practices, procedures
and records of the Pennsylvania State Police, the Pennsylvania
Board of Probation and Parole, the Department of Corrections,
the board, the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts
and any other State or local agency the Attorney General deems
necessary in order to conduct a thorough and accurate
performance audit.

(2) To prepare an annual report of its findings and any
action that it recommends be taken by the Pennsylvania State
Police, the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the
Department of Corrections, the board, the Administrative
Office of Pennsylvania Courts, other State or local agencies
and the General Assembly to ensure compliance with this
subchapter. The first report shall be released to the general
public no fewer than 18 months following the effective date of
this section.

(3) To provide a copy of its report to the Pennsylvania
State Police, the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole,
the Department of Corrections, the board, the Administrative
Office of Pennsylvania Courts, State or local agencies
referenced in the report, the chairman and the minority
chairman of the Judiciary Committee of the Senate and the
chairman and the minority chairman of the Judiciary Committee
of the House of Representatives no fewer than 30 days prior to
its release to the general public.

(b) Cooperation required.--Notwithstanding any other provision
of law to the contrary, the Pennsylvania State Police, the
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the Department of
Corrections, the board, the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania
Courts, the Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing and any other
State or local agency requested to do so shall fully cooperate
with the Attorney General and assist the Office of Attorney
General in satisfying the requirements of this section. For
purposes of this subsection, full cooperation shall include, at a
minimum, complete access to unredacted records, files, reports
and data systems.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year)

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.38.
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§ 9799.39. Photographs and fingerprinting.

An individual subject to registration shall submit to
fingerprinting and photographing as required by this subchapter.
Fingerprinting as required by this subchapter shall, at a
minimum, require submission of a full set of fingerprints and
palm prints. Photographing as required by this subchapter shall,
at a minimum, require submission to photographs of the face and
any scars, marks, tattoos or other unique features of the
individual . Fingerprints and photographs obtained under this
subchapter may be maintained for use under this subchapter and
for general law enforcement purposes.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year)

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.39.
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§ 9799.40. Duties of Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing.

The Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing shall establish
procedures to enable courts to classify sexual offenders as
provided in section 9799.23 (relating to court notification and
classification requirements).

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff. one year)

2011 Amendment. Act 111 added section 9799.40.

Source: Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes,

65 of 66
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/li/public/



Formatted by:

Pennsylvania State Police
Office of Chief Counsel

§ 9799.41.

(Dec. 20, 2011, P.L.446, No.111, eff.
P.L.880, No.91, eff.

Expiration.

October 25, 2012
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