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INFORMATION FOR NEW CONSTABLES  

AND DEPUTY CONSTABLES 
 

 
 

The Constables’ Education and Training Board (“Board”) of the Pennsylvania Commission on 

Crime and Delinquency (“PCCD”) has prepared this guide to provide newly elected or appointed 

constables and deputy constables with a summary of the training and certification programs and 

requirements established under the provisions of Act 2009-49.  In addition, as a courtesy to the 

State Ethics Commission, this guide also contains a brief description of the financial disclosure 

responsibilities of constables and deputy constables as public officials (see page 15). 

 

For more information, please visit PCCD’s website at www.pccd.pa.gov or telephone the PCCD 

at 717-265-8551, 717-265-8552 or 717-265-8554. 
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REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION 

 

Act 1994-44, the Constables’ Education and Training Act established the Constables’ Education 

and Training Board (Board), to train and certify Pennsylvania Constables and Deputy Constables.  

In October 2009, Act 1994-44 was amended by Act 2009-49 and is known as Title 44 Pa.C.S. Act 

49, which outlines the training and certification processes of the Board. 

 

The Board operates with the oversight and staff support of the PCCD. The constables’ training 

certification programs are continuously improved and modified to keep step with the changing 

constables’ needs and their role in the criminal justice system. The training is provided by various 

regional contractors. PCCD’s Bureau of Training Services supervises and coordinates these 

activities, which ensures proper curriculum development and delivery, as well as timely and 

accurate constable certification and recertification. 

 

TRAINING REQUIREMENTS: 

 

Training programs administered by the Board include basic training, which is at the core of initial 

certification of constables, and annual continuing education, which provides for the re-certification 

of constables.  Training and certification are awarded only to individuals who hold the office of 

constable or deputy constable.  Attendance and successful completion of these programs are 

required for a constable to be certified to perform and to be paid for performing judicial duties.   

 

Title 49 Pa.C.S.A. §7142(a). Certification. provides that: 

 

“No constable or deputy constable shall perform any judicial duties nor demand or receive 

any fee, surcharge or mileage provided by this subchapter unless he has been certified under 

this subchapter.” 
 
Title 49 Pa.C.S.A. §7142(b). Liability insurance. also requires that:  

 

“Every constable and deputy constable must file with the county clerk of courts proof that 

he has, currently in force, a policy of professional liability insurance covering each 

individual in the performance of his judicial duties with a minimum coverage of $250,000 

per incident and a minimum aggregate of $500,000 per year.” 

 

Title 49 Pa.C.S.A. §7142(c). Loss of certification. further states:  

 

“Any constable or deputy constable who fails, neglects or refuses to maintain a current 

insurance policy as required by subsection (b) or to file proof thereof with the clerk of 

courts shall cease automatically to be certified to perform judicial duties upon the 

expiration of the policy of which proof has been filed with the clerk of courts.” 
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REGISTERING WITH THE PROGRAM 
 

Registration is the first step in obtaining certification and allows constables to receive training 

bulletins, training schedules, and other PCCD communications regarding training and 

certification. 

 

Registration can be initiated via telephone by calling or emailing Program Staff at 717-265-8551, 

717-265-8552 or 717-265-8554, or email at nihartman@pa.gov; trabeaver@pa.gov or 

sleffler@pa.gov.  Leave your full name and telephone number, including area code.  Program Staff 

will return your call or email and provide registration information.  Registrants are asked to provide 

the following information: name, mailing address, email address, telephone number, social 

security number, date of birth, term of office dates, and appointing constable information for 

deputy constables. The registration process takes less than five minutes and requires the 

submission of documentation of your status as a constable or deputy constable in the form of an 

election certificate or an appointment order signed by the President Judge of the county Court of 

Common Pleas. 

 

To enroll into training classes online, you must be a registered user in the Constables’ Certification, 

Education and Training System (CCETS). 

 

The registration process can also be started by returning the completed Constable/Deputy 

Constable Registration Form (Attachment 2) by mail to: Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and 

Delinquency, Constables’ Program, P.O. Box 1167, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17108-1167.  The 

form can also be faxed to the PCCD at 717-783-7140 or emailed to:  nihartman@pa.gov; 

trabeaver@pa.gov or sleffler@pa.gov. Program Staff will contact you directly if any other 

information is needed. 

 

Please be advised that constables and deputy constables are not employed by the PCCD, the 

BOARD or the Training Program, per Supreme Court Decision, In Re: Act 147 of 1990, which 

ruled that constables and deputy constables are “independent contractors for the minor judiciary”.  

Neither the PCCD, the Board nor Program Staff will sign off as an employing agency for a 

constable or deputy constable. 

 

 

Constables’ Certification, Education and 

Training System (CCETS) 
 

All users must register in CCETS prior to a user account being assigned. The registration process 

is very easy, and Program Staff have provided a “walk through” of the registration process.  Please 

go to the PCCD website at www.pccd.pa.gov, click on the “Training” link and then the 

“Constables’ Education and Training Board” link, this will take you to the full constable training 

webpage.  The link to register is on the right side of the page for: “Register/Login to CCETS”. 

 

Please reference the following screen shots on how to register as a new user for CCETS. 

 

 

 

 

 

mailto:nihartman@pa.gov
mailto:trabeaver@pa.gov
mailto:sleffler@pa.gov
mailto:nihartman@pa.gov
mailto:trabeaver@pa.gov
mailto:sleffler@pa.gov
http://www.pccd.pa.gov/
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TRAINING 
 

Currently, the Constables’ Education and Training Program mandated by Act 2009-49 provides 

four types of training: 80-Hour Basic Training; 40-Hour Basic Firearms Training; 12-Hour 

Continuing Education Training; and 4-Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course. Two regional 

training delivery contractors offer the training from January through October of each year at 

various locations throughout the state.  Class enrollment is required prior to attending any 

constable training class. 

 

The Constables’ Training Schedule lists contact information for the two regional training delivery 

contractors.  Although it is suggested that an individual attend training in his or her “home” region, 

a constable or deputy constable may attend training offered anywhere in the state.  Training is on 

a first-come, first-served basis.  Class space is limited due to the availability of training facilities, 

and to provide a proper training environment.  To enroll into the 80-Hour Basic Training Course, 

a completed Standard Registration Form must be mailed or faxed directly to PCCD Staff along 

with a signed Statement of Understanding and the required payment amount in the form of a check, 

money order, or certified check.  The check or money order should be made payable to PCCD in 

the amount of $1,125 and sent to:  PCCD-Constables’ Program, PO Box 1167, Harrisburg, PA  

17108-1167. 

  

A constable or deputy constable must successfully complete the 40-Hour Basic Firearms Training 

to obtain initial certification to carry a firearm in the performance of constable duties.  Following 

initial firearms certification, successful completion of the 4-Hour Annual Firearms Qualification 

Course every year is required to maintain firearms certification. 

 

 

80-HOUR BASIC TRAINING: 

 

All newly elected constables or appointed deputy constables are required, under Act 49-2009 

§7142(a) to attend and successfully complete basic training to perform judicial duties and be paid.  

Constables or appointed deputy constables must be registered with PCCD.  To register, please call 

the Constables' Training Program at 717-265-8551, 717-265-8552, or 717-265-8554 or by email 

at:  nihartman@pa.gov, trabeaver@pa.gov or sleffler@pa.gov, when leaving a message, include 

full name and telephone number, including area code.   

 

At the February 14, 2019 Constables Education and Training Board (Board) Meeting, the Board 

voted a constable or deputy constable who is elected or appointed must pay for the expense of the 

basic training course and the basic firearms training course starting January 1, 2020.  The cost of 

a basic training course and basic firearms training course will be determined by Program Staff and 

published yearly.  For 2020, the cost of basic training is $1,125.00 and the cost of basic firearms 

is $1,485.00.  The Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency (PCCD) approved this 

change at its September 11, 2019 meeting.  These payment(s) must be received by Program Staff 

prior to enrollment into these classes. 

 

Refer to Title 37 Law, Chapter 431, for Regulations relating to the certification of constables and 

deputy constables.  To successfully complete basic training, an individual must attend and 

participate in all training as scheduled, achieve a passing score of at least 70% on each written 

examination administered during the course, and successfully demonstrate practical skills during 

each proficiency examination.  There are 14 subjects covered in basic training.  Constables and 

deputy constables are tested on each of the 14 subjects.  An individual who receives less than 70% 

mailto:nihartman@pa.gov
mailto:trabeaver@pa.gov
mailto:sleffler@pa.gov
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on any written exam will have only one opportunity to re-test in that subject. If an individual fails 

the re-test, that individual has failed the basic training course and will not be certified by the Board.   

 

Basic training will consist of instruction in the following subjects:  role of the constable in the 

justice system, professional development, civil law and process, criminal law and process, use of 

force, mechanics of arrest, defensive tactics, prisoner transport and custody, court security, crisis 

intervention, management of aggressive behavior (MOAB), expandable baton (MEB), and 

oleoresin capsicum (OCAT). 

 

12-HOUR CONTINUING EDUCATION TRAINING: 

 

Constables and deputy constables are required to attend and successfully complete continuing 

education every year to renew their certifications for the following calendar year.  For example, 

successful completion of the 8-Hour Continuing Education course and 4-Hour Online Module in 

the current year will serve as the basis for the renewal of a constable’s certification for the next 

year.  To successfully complete continuing education, an individual must attend and participate in 

all training as scheduled, achieve a passing score of at least 70% on each written examination 

administered during the course, and successfully demonstrate practical skills during each 

proficiency examination.  Based upon successful completion of continuing education by October, 

constables and deputy constables will be issued new certification cards in December, which will 

indicate certification for the following year. 

 

FIREARMS TRAINING: 

 

Firearms training is optional, in that constables are not required to carry a firearm in the 

performance of their judicial duties. That choice is left to the discretion of each constable or deputy 

constable.  However, the Pennsylvania Unified Judicial System, Constable Policies, Procedures 

and Standards of Conduct dated May 2013, states under IV.  Security and Transports, subsection 

B.  Weapons.  “No constable shall carry a firearm in the performance of judicial duties unless he 

or she has received firearm certification pursuant to 44 Pa.C.S.A. §7144 and complied with all 

regulations established by the Constables’ Education and Training Board.” 

 

Act 49 mandates firearms training and certification for any constable or deputy constable who 

intends to carry a firearm during the performance of his or her constable duties. Board Regulation 

states that constables and deputy constables must be at least twenty-one years of age before 

attending firearms training.  

 

A constable or deputy constable must successfully complete basic firearms training one time to 

obtain initial certification to carry a firearm in the performance of constable duties. Following 

initial firearms certification, successful completion of annual firearms training every year is 

required to maintain firearms certification. 

 

40-HOUR BASIC FIREARMS: 

 

The Basic Firearms Training has been designed to provide essential grounding in acceptable law 

enforcement techniques for any constable who is not certified to carry a firearm by the PCCD.  It 

consists of 40 hours of basic firearms training and qualification.  While the training is not 

mandatory, it is available to any constable who has completed the 80-Hour Basic Training course, 

has acquired a certification number, and is at least twenty-one years of age.   
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The 40-Hour Basic Firearms course consists of a series of lectures, laboratory activities, and 

practical exercises that provide a basic understanding of the safe manipulation of a revolver or 

semi-automatic pistol.  It starts with the presumption that the participant has little or no formal 

training.  The course stresses safe handling techniques, proper cleaning, correct weapons handling 

skills, and marksmanship. 

 

The constable will be exposed to firing in reduced light and to interactive judgmental shooting 

scenarios.  Successful course completion will require passing all practical exercises and written 

tests, and demonstrating proficient, safe weapons handling skills.  The constable qualification 

course (CQC) is divided into two stages.  A shooter must qualify on each phase with a score of at 

least a 75%.  The shooter who fails to pass one of the phases will be permitted to repeat the phase 

on which he or she did not meet the 75% threshold. Scoring will only take place at the end of each 

phase and there will be no remedial training if a constable fails a phase of the CQC.  This course 

includes a written exam which includes a satisfactory course completion score of 75%.  

 

4-HOUR ANNUAL FIREARMS QUALIFICATION COURSE: 

 
At the July 9, 2018 Constables Education and Training Board (Board) meeting, the Board voted to 

eliminate the 20-Hour Annual and Advanced Firearms Training Courses and replace it with a 4-Hour 

Annual Firearms Qualification Course. The Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency 

(PCCD) approved this change at its September 12, 2018 meeting. Constables will sign up for a 4-Hour 

Annual Firearms Qualification Course through the Constables Certification, Education and Training 

System (CCETS), as they would for any other training.  

 

The 2020 4-Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course will consist of a written test, administrative 

procedures, safety brief and firing the Constable Qualification Course (CQC) of fire. There will be no 

practice of the CQC. A Student Firearms Study Guide will be available in CCETS; constables must 

review and study this Guide prior to attending a 4-Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course. The 

written test will be on the material in the Student Firearms Study Guide at the start of the 4-Hour 

Annual Firearms Qualification Course.  Satisfactory course completion requires a passing score (75%) 

on the written examination.  In addition, the constable much achieve a qualification standard of 75% 

(45 points) or better on each phase of the CQC using their duty weapon. 

 

Constables are strongly encouraged to practice the CQC, for time, prior to signing up for a 4-Hour 

Annual Firearms Qualification Course. The CQC can be found on the PCCD website at: 

http://www.pccd.pa.gov/training/Documents/Constable%20Education%20and%20Training/Constabl

e%20Forms/Constables'%20Qualification%20Course%20of%20Fire.pdf.  

 

Scoring will only take place at the end of each Phase. Constables are strongly encouraged to practice 

prior to attending a 4-Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course. Constables should assess their 

strengths and weaknesses when shooting the CQC and focus their practice on what sections of the CQC 

they need to improve upon. Constables are encouraged to practice together and see if their local 

association will conduct a range day to practice the CQC or find a local firearms instructor for shooting 

assistance.  

 

 

 

  

http://www.pccd.pa.gov/training/Documents/Constable%20Education%20and%20Training/Constable%20Forms/Constables'%20Qualification%20Course%20of%20Fire.pdf
http://www.pccd.pa.gov/training/Documents/Constable%20Education%20and%20Training/Constable%20Forms/Constables'%20Qualification%20Course%20of%20Fire.pdf
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FIREARMS FAILURES:  

 

At the August 9, 2018 Board meeting, the Board approved the attached Policy regarding firearms 

failures during the CQC. This Policy was also approved by the PCCD at its September 12, 2018 

meeting. The policy states:  

 

2. Firearms qualification.  

 

a. A constable who fails either phase of the qualification course of fire on their first attempt, will 

not be provided any remediation training by the firearms instructors.  

 

b. The firearms certification of a constable who fails to attain a passing score in a retest of a written 

examination or practical skill proficiency examination shall cease immediately on the date of the 

failure. The constable will not be firearms certified until that constable attends a second firearms 

qualification course in its entirety and completes it successfully to obtain a firearms qualification. 

The constable shall bear financial responsibility for the second firearms qualification course. 

 

This Policy change states that the firearms certification would end the day of the firearms failure. 

A constable will not be firearms certified until they pay to attend a second 4-Hour Annual Firearms 

Qualification Course and successfully complete the second Course.  

 

To recap, there will be no remedial training if a constable fails a Phase of the CQC. Constables 

will be allowed a second attempt at passing the failed Phase.;. Also, constables should bring 120 

rounds of qualification ammunition, in case of failure. No training ammunition will be provided at 

the 4-Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course. If a constable fails the 4-Hour Annual Firearms 

Qualification Course after two attempts, the constable will have failed the Course and will have to 

pay prior to enrolling in another 4-Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course. 
 

TRAINING QUALIFICATION WITH AN ADDITIONAL WEAPON 

 

Qualification with two weapons is permitted, subject to time constraints and range conditions.  

The constable must provide enough ammunition for that additional weapon.  Constables must 

qualify with Weapon 1 before they will be permitted to attempt to qualify with Weapon 2.  

 
If a constable fails to achieve the required score during a Weapon 1 qualification attempt and re-

shoots the portion of the course failed but still fails to qualify with Weapon 1, that constable will 

not be permitted to attempt qualification with Weapon 2. 
 

WEAPON-MOUNTED LIGHTS or LASERS: 

 
There are no restrictions on weapon-mounted lights or lasers unless the light or laser becomes a 

distraction to the user, impedes their ability to clear a malfunction, or creates a safety issue at which 

time an instructor can have the constable remove or stop  using  the device on the weapon 
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FITNESS AND FIREARM REMINDERS:  

 

It is important to be fit on the firearms range, both physically and mentally. If a constable is feeling 

under the weather due to a cold/flu or some other medical condition, and has an upcoming firearms 

training class scheduled, they may want to reschedule to a class later in the year. Constables who 

currently wear glasses or contacts should have their eyes checked before attending an annual 

firearms qualification course. This will help to alleviate any potential qualification or firearms 

safety issues that may arise on the range due to these conditions. 

 

 

ATTENDANCE POLICIES 
 

Please see the attendance policies outlined in Board Regulation below.  All calls should be made 

“to the director of the school or a designee” directly.   

 

§431.25(a), §431.35(a) and §431.47(a).  Attendance policies.  

 

States in part . . . A notification shall be deemed timely if it is delivered to the director of the school 

or a designee no later than 7 calendars prior to the start of classes. 

 

Constables and deputy constables should not call or inform the class instructors as to the 

non-attendance of themselves or others.   

 

All attendance calls should be made directly “to the director of the school or a designee”.   

 

If you have an emergency prior to, or on any of the scheduled class dates, contact the training 

delivery contractor as soon as possible.   

 
PLEASE DO NOT CONTACT PROGRAM STAFF TO ENROLL, WITHDRAW OR 

TRANSFER TRAINING CLASSES. 

 

 

WAIVERS OF TRAINING FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT 
 

BASIC TRAINING WAIVERS: 

 

Applications for waivers of constables’ basic training are allowed for those constables and deputy 

constables who have completed legislatively mandated basic training and are certified as municipal 

police officers under Act 120 by the Municipal Police Officers’ Education and Training 

Commission, or as deputy sheriffs under Act 2 by the Sheriffs’ and Deputy Sheriffs’ Education 

and Training Board.  A constable or deputy constable who is currently employed as a municipal 

police officer or a deputy sheriff may apply for a waiver of constables’ basic training, provided 

that his or her training and certification is current, in-force, and up-to-date upon application for 

waiver of constables’ basic training. 
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In addition, a constable or deputy constable who was formerly employed as a Pennsylvania State 

Trooper, a municipal police officer, or a deputy sheriff is eligible to apply for a waiver of 

constables’ basic training within two years of terminating such employment.  Constables and 

deputy constables who terminated their law enforcement employment within the last two years 

must have evidence that the appropriate training and certification, applicable to the level of law 

enforcement employment, was current, in-force, and up-to-date upon termination of that 

employment. 

 

A basic training law enforcement waiver application may be obtained by calling 717-265-8551, 

717-265-8552 or 717-265-8554.   Include name, mailing address and telephone number with area 

code when leaving a message.  The Basic Training Waiver Application for Law Enforcement 

Officers is also available in the Constables’ Training Program section of the PCCD website at 

www.pccd.pa.gov. 

  

http://www.pccd.pa.gov/


 

 15 

FINANCIAL DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS OF THE 

STATE ETHICS COMMISSION 
 

FINANCIAL INTEREST STATEMENTS: WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW 

 

Each year, thousands of public officials and public employees across Pennsylvania are confronted 

with a task that is almost as enjoyable as filing tax returns - filing their yearly Statements of 

Financial Interests.  The filing of a Statement of Financial Interests may not be enjoyable, it is a 

yearly obligation for those public officials and public employees who meet the criteria established 

by the Public Official and  Employee Ethics Act, commonly referred to as the Ethics Act, including 

constables, and deputy constables.  In addition to mandating the filing of the forms, the Ethics Act 

also designates the State Ethics Commission as the agency responsible for the administration of 

the process. 

 

Because of that requirement, the State Ethics Commission, each year, handles numerous questions 

about how to complete the forms.  The following article is offered by the State Ethics Commission 

to address frequently encountered questions and problems. 

 

Constables and deputy constables have been required to file Statements of Financial Interests since 

1993 with the issuance of Opinion 92-008 by the State Ethics Commission. 

 

As required by the Ethics Act, all elected, and most appointed public officials must file a Statement 

of Financial Interests by May 1 of each year.  The same holds true for constables/deputy constables.  

Constables are required by law to file their Statements of Financial Interests directly with the State 

Ethics Commission.  Statement of Financial Interests forms are available from the State Ethics 

Commission at www.ethics.pa.gov, the PCCD at www.pccd.pa.gov, County Boards of Elections 

and managers of townships and boroughs throughout the Commonwealth.  

.  

 

WHO IS REQUIRED TO FILE A FINANCIAL INTEREST STATEMENT? 

 

All elected and most appointed public officials, including constables and deputy constables, are 

required to file an annual Statement of Financial Interests.  In addition, many public employees 

are also subject to the annual Statement of Financial Interests filing requirement.  Constables and 

deputy constables are required to file Statements of Financial Interests as well even if they do not 

work as a constable and even if they do not earn money as a constable.  Further, constables and 

deputy constables must file even if they are not certified through required class work to perform 

the role of constable/deputy constable.  The key standard is whether the constable/deputy constable 

has taken the oath of office.  If so, then the constable/deputy constable must file a Statement of 

Financial Interests.  These rules apply whether the constable/deputy constable is elected or 

appointed to fill a vacancy. 

 

Second, other public employees who are not elected, but meet the criteria set forth in the Ethics 

Act, also must file a Statement of Financial Interests.  The entire criteria are too lengthy to be 

repeated herein, but may be found in the language of the Ethics Act itself, as well as the 

accompanying regulations, which are listed at 51 Pa. Code, at Sections 11, 15, 17 and 19.  In 

general, though, some of the considerations that will determine whether someone is required to 

file include whether the person has supervisory authority over other employees, the scope of 

decision making authority of the person, the ability to expend funds on a discretionary basis, and 

http://www.ethics.pa.gov/
http://www.pccd.pa.gov/
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responsibility for carrying out laws or regulations.  Also, part-time and full-time municipal 

solicitors are required to file a Statement of Financial Interests. 

 

Candidates or nominees for office must file a Statement of Financial Interests as well.  Candidates 

for the position of constable must file a Statement of Financial Interests on or before the last day 

for filing a petition to appear on the ballot for election.  Candidates who do not file may be 

disqualified from appearing on the election ballot. Regarding nominees, they must file a Statement 

of Financial Interests at least ten days before their nomination is scheduled to be reviewed for 

approval or rejection. 

 

The public is thus given access to the financial interest information of its public servants, who are 

in positions of decision-making authority.  In this way, the needs of the public are assured that 

financial interests of its public officials do not conflict with their public duties is fulfilled. 

. 

 

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH STATEMENT OF FINANCIAL INTERESTS FILING 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

With these suggestions in mind, a person may wonder what happens if they either fail to file a 

Statement of Financial Interests form or file a deficient Statement of Financial Interests form for a 

particular year.   

 

Each year, the State Ethics Commission conducts numerous random audits of the Statement of 

Financial Interests on file at the state, county and local levels.  These audits often reveal either 

forms not being filed by individuals who are required to file, or deficient forms.  Since the forms 

are required to be available to the public, members of communities across the Commonwealth 

often contact the Commission with what they believe are problems with the Statement of Financial 

Interests form filed by their government officials.  This information enables the Commission to 

monitor whether each governmental body is following the law regarding the Statement of Financial 

Interests filing requirements. 

 

Once the Commission determines that there was a non-filing or a deficient filing, an enforcement 

process begins.  Public officials, including constables who are delinquent or deficient in their 

filings, are given the opportunity by the Ethics Commission to t either file or amend the forms as 

directed.  This process involves filing a Statement of Financial Interests form and addressing 

problem areas that may have been identified.  If the individual complies with the notices of non-

compliance and files a complete and accurate Statement of Financial Interests, no further action is 

taken. 

 

If the constable/public official refuses to comply with the filing provisions of the law, or files 

another deficient form, a formal legal process then begins.  Individuals are then subject to a process 

that can involve an order from the Ethics Commission imposing a fine and directing them to 

comply with their Statement of Financial Interests requirements, and those orders can be enforced 

in the Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania.  Failure to comply with those orders can lead to 

fines, contempt of court citations, and even imprisonment.  Each year, across Pennsylvania, 

government officials spend additional time, effort and expense due to their failure to properly 

comply with the filing of the Statement of Financial Interests form. 

 

The Ethics Commission wants to avoid this process whenever possible.  It is much preferable to 

have public officials correctly follow the process of filing the forms, rather than resorting to a legal 
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process to compel filings.  It is the State Ethics Commission’s belief that the more information that 

is made available about the process, the easier it will be to comply with, which is to everyone’s 

benefit. 

 

CONCLUSION 

 

The Statement of Financial Interests process is designed to allow the public to be informed about 

the financial interests of its government officials.  In this way, citizens can be aware if their 

government officials have any outside interests that may impact upon their decision-making.  That 

kind of information helps all of us achieve good government. 

 

There are two ways to file the legally mandated Statement of Financial Interests.  First, the State 

Ethics Commission has devised paper forms that have been made more user-friendly, so those 

officials that are required to file them can do so as easily as possible.  In addition to the paper form, 

the State Ethics Commission also has available an online form which can be found at 

www.ethics.pa.gov.  Click on the link entitled “Online Filing” and following the instructions.  An 

email confirmation with a PDF copy of your filing is also provided upon completion.  To make 

that process as efficient as possible, the State Ethics Commission wants to make as much 

information available as it can.  We encourage questions or comments about this process, to be 

directed to the Commission at their toll-free telephone number, (800) 932-0936, or their outside 

number, (717) 783-1610, between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, or by e-mail 

at ethics@pa.gov.  In addition, the State Ethics Commission has a website, which can be found at 

www.ethics.pa.gov.  This website has substantial information regarding the workings of the State 

Ethics Commission, as well as updates in the Ethics Law, and a complete listing of the law and 

regulations of the State Ethics Commission.  We feel this is an excellent source of information and 

we encourage individuals to take advantage of it. 

 

The State Ethics Commission pledges to make the Statement of Financial Interests process as 

efficient and effective as possible, so that government officials can more easily get to the business 

of governing.  We look forward to working with constables and other officials from across 

Pennsylvania to achieve this goal.                               

                                                                                      

                                

  

http://www.ethics.pa.gov/
mailto:ethics@pa.gov
http://www.ethics.pa.gov/
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PA CONSTABLES’ CLASSROOM CODE OF CONDUCT 
 

All newly elected or appointed constables and deputy constables must sign off on the PA 

Constables’ Classroom Code of Conduct prior to enrolling into any constable training classes. (See 

Attachment 1) 
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Attachment 1 
 

 
 

PA Constables’ Training Code of Conduct 
 

Constables’ Training Code of Conduct: 

 

I. Testing 

 

A. Mandatory tests and proficiency examinations will be given for each major section 

of the curriculum.  To complete the course and receive certification or recertification, a 

trainee must pass all mandatory tests and proficiency examinations. 

 

B. Mandatory tests and proficiency examinations will be scheduled and announced 

to the class in advance. 

 

C. All mandatory test and proficiency examination material must be returned to the 

instructor supervising each test at the end of the examination period. 

 

D. It is the responsibility of each individual user to secure and protect their User ID 

and password for any computer systems utilized by the Program.  Sharing of or providing 

the User ID and password, allowing someone else to take your online training or mandatory 

tests and proficiency examinations, or sharing or receiving mandatory test and proficiency 

examination questions/answers will be considered cheating. 

 

E. Cheating on examinations will be grounds for discipline by the training provider. 

Cheating includes, but is not limited to, copying from another person's examination, 

utilizing references or notes without the instructor or proctor’s approval, theft of test and/or 

examination materials, removal of test and/or examination materials from the classroom, 

using test and/or examination materials stolen by another or providing answers to, 

receiving answers from, or giving assistance to another person during any phase of a testing 

and/or examination session.  

 

II. Attendance 

 

A. A constable or deputy constable who registers for the Basic Training, Continuing 

Education or Firearms Qualification Course may withdraw from the course without penalty 

upon timely notification to the director of the school conducting said course.  A notification 

shall be deemed timely if it is delivered to the director of the school or his or her designee 

no later than seven calendar days prior to the start of the course.  The school may assess a 

failing grade for all or part of the Basic Training, Continuing Education or Firearms 

Qualification Course if the constable or deputy constable fails to provide timely 

notification or to show good cause. 
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B. A constable or deputy constable must attend and complete all hours of the training 

course to receive credit for the course.  Constables and deputy constables are required to 

be on time for all training courses and to remain until the completion of the training as 

determined by the instructor. 

 

III. Unprofessional Conduct: 

 

A. Unprofessional conduct is defined as conduct that reflects poorly upon the image 

of the Constables’ Education and Training Board (Board) and the Constables of the 

Commonwealth.  

 

B. Unprofessional conduct is grounds for sanction and the imposition of appropriate 

disciplinary action.  

 

C. Examples of unprofessional conduct include, but are not limited to:  disruptive 

talking in the classroom; disrespect to instructors; sleeping, eating, or smoking in class; 

disrupting other activities occurring on the training site; false fire alarm; vandalism; illegal 

parking; lying to training delivery or Board staff or any other person; refusal to cooperate 

with staff investigations; and other criminal offenses committed at the training site.  Cell 

phone usage during training classes would be deemed disruptive and disrespectful to the 

instructors and other students.  Utilizing any other electronic device could also be 

disruptive and disrespectful to the classroom environment. 

 

D. Attendance at training sessions while under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs 

is prohibited and is grounds for immediate dismissal from training.  Immediate dismissal 

from a training class while under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs will constitute a 

class failure and the constable or deputy constable shall bear financial responsibility for the 

cost of attending an additional training course.  

 

E. Harassment or discrimination against an individual or group by reason of race, 

color, familial status, religious creed, ancestry, age, sex, national origin, handicap or 

disability will not be tolerated and is grounds for dismissal from the course. 

 

1. Physical Harassment/Abuse:  This includes, but is not limited to, unwanted 

physical contact to include touching, fondling, patting, pinching, kissing and all 

legal classifications of assault. 

 

2. Verbal Harassment/Abuse:  This includes, but is not limited to, name calling, 

innuendoes, insults, threats, requests or demands for sexual favors, 

propositions, questions about a person's sexual practices, lewd comments, "wolf 

whistles," racial, religious, ethnic, or explicit sexual jokes. 
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3. Visual Harassment/Abuse:  This includes, but is not limited to, obscene, explicit 

or insulting gestures, leering or displays, pictures, objects, materials or crude 

cartoons.       

 

F. Sexual Harassment:  Includes, but is not limited to, unwanted sexual advances, 

requests for sexual favors and other verbal or physical conduct such as that described above 

when it is of a sexual nature and when such conduct has the purpose or effect of 

unreasonably interfering with an individual's work performance or creating an 

intimidating, hostile or offensive working environment. 

 

G. All trainees are expected to respect the rights of their fellow classmates. 

 

 

IV. Disciplinary Action 

 

A. Violations of this Code of Conduct may subject a trainee to disciplinary action. 

 

B. Disciplinary action may include but is not limited to: 

 

1. An oral reprimand;  

2. A written warning; 

3. Restitution for damages; 

4. Dismissal from the training delivery provider for the course of instruction; 

5. Permanent bar from the training delivery provider’s training sites. 

 

C. Imposition of disciplinary action by a training delivery provider’s director does not 

waive the training delivery provider's or the Board's right to impose additional or more 

severe disciplinary action against a trainee when the circumstances require such action.  

Imposition of disciplinary action by a training delivery provider’s director also does not 

waive the training delivery provider’s or the Board’s right to impose no or less severe 

disciplinary action against a trainee.   
 
D. An Act 49 Constable Training Grievance Form can be used by a constable to file a 

formal grievance with the Board for any disciplinary action taken against a constable.  A 

copy of this Grievance Form can be found on the PCCD website or by writing to PCCD 

Bureau of Training Services, PO Box 1167, Harrisburg PA  17108-1167.   
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Statement of Understanding 

 
 

I, ___________________________, have read and understand the PA Constables’ Training Code 

of Conduct and agree to abide by its provisions.  Refusal to sign off on this PA Constables’ 

Training Code of Conduct will prohibit the constable or deputy constable from attending Act 49 

Constable Training. 

 

 

 

 

 

______________________________________________ 

Print Name 

 

 

 

______________________________________________  ________________________ 

Signature        Date 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

ADOPTED BY CETB FEBRUARY 14, 2019 

ADOPTED BY PCCD SEPTEMBER 11, 2019 
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Attachment 2 

CONSTABLE/DEPUTY CONSTABLE REGISTRATION FORM 
 

  Please complete and mail or FAX this form to the address below.   

BUREAU OF TRAINING SERVICES-CONSTABLES’ PROGRAM 

PENNSYLVANIA COMMISSION ON CRIME AND DELINQUENCY 

P.O. BOX 1167 

HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA  17108-1167 

FAX: (717) 783-7140 
 

IMPORTANT: YOU MUST INCLUDE PROOF OF YOUR STATUS AS A CONSTABLE OR DEPUTY 

CONSTABLE IN THE FORM OF AN ELECTION CERTIFICATE OR AN APPOINTMENT ORDER SIGNED BY 

THE PRESIDENT JUDGE OF YOUR COUNTY COURT OF COMMON PLEAS.  FAILURE TO PROVIDE THIS 

ESSENTIAL DOCUMENTATION WILL DELAY COMPLETION OF YOUR PCCD REGISTRATION.  YOU 

WILL NOT BE ABLE TO ENROLL IN ANY ACT 2009-49 CONSTABLE TRAINING CLASS UNTIL PCCD 

REGISTRATION HAS BEEN COMPLETED.  PROSPECTIVE ACT 49 STUDENTS MUST PROVE THEY HOLD 

THE OFFICE OF CONSTABLE OR DEPUTY CONSTABLE BEFORE THEY ARE PERMITTED TO ENROLL 

IN CONSTABLE TRAINING.  

 

NAME:    

Last First MI 

 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  DATE OF BIRTH:  

 

MAILING 

ADDRESS: 

PLEASE INCLUDE 

4-DIGIT ZIP CODE 

SUFFIX 

 

 

 

 
                        

COUNTY:  

 

BUSINESS TELEPHONE NUMBER:  

 

ALTERNATIVE TELEPHONE NUMBER:  

 

E-MAIL ADDRESS:  

 

I AM 

A 
 CONSTABLE  DEPUTY CONSTABLE 

 

FOR CONSTABLES AND DEPUTY CONSTABLES: 
 

DATE YOU BEGAN CURRENT TERM OF 

OFFICE:  

  

EXPIRATION DATE OF YOUR CURRENT 

TERM:  

 

FOR DEPUTY CONSTABLES: 
 

NAME OF CONSTABLE WHO APPOINTED YOU: 

   

Last First MI 

 

APPOINTING CONSTABLE’S CERTIFICATION 

NUMBER: 

 

The Program will require the Appointing Constable’s election or appointment paperwork if not currently on file. 
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Attachment 3 
 

PENNSYLVANIA COMMISSION ON CRIME AND DELINQUENCY 
CONSTABLES’ EDUCATION AND TRAINING BOARD 

 

Training Enrollment Form 

80-HOUR BASIC TRAINING 
 
PLEASE NOTE:  Print completed form, sign and date it, and FAX or MAIL DIRECTLY TO PCCD. 

80-HOUR BASIC TRAINING (BT) 

 

 

NAME:    

LAST FIRST 
MI 

 
MAILING 

ADDRESS:  

 

 
 

COUNTY:  DATE OF BIRTH: 
 

 

BUSINESS TELEPHONE:  

 
BUSINESS FAX 

NUMBER: 
 

       
EMAIL ADDRESS: 

 

 

APPLICANT’S UNDERSTANDING AND SIGNATURE 
By signing my name below, I am stating that the information given on this enrollment form is 
true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 

   

Signature of Applicant  Date 
 

 

 

 

 
 PCCD BASIC TRAINING ENROLLMENT FORM (REV 12/2019)  

 

FIRST CHOICE CLASS ID NUMBER: S C 0

1 

1 B T 2 1 

LOCATION: 

 
 


