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IRS Work Classification Decision 
 

Program Staff have been made aware of discussions in several counties regarding the Internal Revenue 

Service’s work classification of constables and deputy constables.  A copy of the March 29, 2013 Internal 

Revenue Service’s decision on Pennsylvania Constables, Work Classification Issue is attached to this 

Training Bulletin and can also be found at https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-lafa/20131801F.pdf.  Please contact 

your county Court Administrator’s Office to determine if this decision impacts your county. 

 

Take Home CDs 

 
Each constable and deputy constable is provided with a “take home CD” at the Basic and Continuing 

Education training classes each year.  There is a wealth of information provided on these cds such as the 

Constable Safety Pocket Guide, syllabuses and PowerPoint presentations of each training modules, case 

law, legislative and Magisterial District Judges System (MDJS) updates.  These CDs are a great reference 

tool that can be accessed at any time. 

 

Class Minimums and Costs 
 

Program Staff and the Training Delivery Contractors closely monitor the minimum class sizes for all 

scheduled training classes but are still holding classes at or below the minimum enrollments.  Minimum 

enrollment standards have been established so that the most cost effective trainings can be held, however, 

there may be instances where you are asked to transfer your class enrollment to another class because that 

class has not met the minimum enrollment.  The Training Delivery Contractors will work with you to ensure 

that the least amount of interruption is caused as a result of a cancelled training class. 

 

Below are the minimum class sizes and the cost to attend a subsequent class as a result of a no show or class 

failure. 

 

Basic Training – 14 student minimum - $617.00 

Basic Firearms – 9 student minimum - $1,124.00 

Continuing Education – 16 student minimum - $121.00 

Annual Firearms – 16 student minimum - $366.00 

Advanced Firearms – 10 student minimum and 12 student maximum 

Optional Training – 6 student minimum - $234.00 

 
P.O. Box 1167, Harrisburg, PA  17108-1167 

Telephone: (717) 705-3693 – Toll Free (800) 692-7292 

FAX: (717) 783-7140 

www.pccd.pa.gov  

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-lafa/20131801F.pdf
http://www.pccd.pa.gov/


 

Re-election/Election Certificates and Appointment Orders 
 

In order to ensure continued, uninterrupted certification, if you were re-elected or elected in November 

2015, you must forward a copy of your new election certificate from the county Board of Elections to the 

PCCD via mail or FAX to: Bureau of Training Services, Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and 

Delinquency, PO Box 1167, Harrisburg PA 17108-1167; FAX (717) 783-7140.  If you are a constable or 

deputy constable who has been newly-appointed or re-appointed, you must forward a copy of your new 

appointment order signed by the President Judge of the Court of Common Pleas, to the address above.  
 

 

2017 ID Cards 
 

In December 2016, PCCD will mail new certification cards to all constables who have maintained their 

certifications by successfully completing continuing education during 2016, by having a valid term of 

office, and by filing current professional liability insurance information with their county clerks of courts.  

Ample allowance will be made for normal mailing time, so constables should receive their new cards before 

the old ones expire on December 31, 2016.  To ensure that cards are mailed to the correct address, any 

constable who has recently changed his address should report that change to Program Staff immediately or 

this change can be made in CCETS. 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

Training Cycle 
 

Constables are reminded that the current training cycle ends in October 2016. 

 

It is expected that the 2017 Training Schedule will be available approximately the week of November 21, 

2016.  ALL TRAINING COURSES ARE FILLED ON A FIRST-COME, FIRST-SERVED BASIS.  

Courses are also limited in size.  Those course limits are strictly enforced, so it is important to register early.  

In order to ensure uninterrupted certification, constables should enroll in training courses as soon as 

possible.  Enroll early.  Online enrollment is best.   

 

If you have not done so already, please make sure to register as a user in the Constables’ Certification, 

Education and Training System (CCETS).  Do not wait until the 2017 classes are open for enrollment to 

register for CCETS.  If you register early in CCETS, you can then familiarize yourself with the system and 

how to enroll in classes, view training history, view and change personal information and share information 

with other certified constables and deputy constables.  You must be a registered CCETS user to enroll 

into classes online.  Program Staff must approve the registration prior to logging into CCETS. 

 

To complete the First Time User Registration go to: www.pccdcis.pa.gov/CCETS/Login.aspx.   

 

  

Title 37 §431.11 Registration:  A person shall register with the Board for certification by 

submitting information such as mailing address and telephone number, Social Security number, 

date of birth and office held or sought.  A constable shall set forth the beginning date and 

expiration date of the term of office held, and provide documentary evidence of election or 

appointment.  A registrant shall inform the Board of a change to registration information within 

15 days of the change. 

 

http://www.pccdcis.pa.gov/CCETS/Login.aspx


Online enrollment is secure and fast, and is confirmed immediately.  Enrollment can also be accomplished 

by mailing or faxing a completed standard registration form directly to the training delivery contractor.  The 

standard registration forms can be found online and are included with the printed training schedule.  The fax 

and address information for the training delivery contractor contact is also included in the printed training 

schedule.  Do not mail or fax training forms to PCCD.  Enrollment questions should be referred to the 

appropriate regional training delivery contractor.  Constables cannot enroll for training courses by calling or 

mailing PCCD, please contact the appropriate regional training delivery contractor. 

 

Training Delivery Contractor Contact Information: 

Eastern Region:  Temple University, Dee Beiter – (267) 468-8331 and FAX (267) 468-8660 

Central Region:   Indiana University of PA, Michael Marcantino – (724) 549-1929 and  

FAX (724) 357-4090 

Western Region:  Penn State-Fayette Campus, Todd Brothers – (724) 430-4114 and  

FAX (724) 430-4113 

 

Chemical Aerosol and Expandable Baton 
 

Please note that the certifications for both OCAT Oleoresin Capsicum (OCAT) and the Monadnock 

Expandable Baton (MEB) are only valid for three (3) years after issue.  Be sure to check your certification 

cards to determine when your certification will expire.  The Program will be offering these certifications 

through the Optional Training Course in 2017.  The Optional Training Course will include the 4-hour 

Chemical Aerosol block as well as the 4-hour Expandable Baton block.  Participants must complete all 8-

hours of instruction.  Participants will not be permitted to pick and choose which segment to 

complete.  Optional Training Courses will be offered across the State.   

 

Liability Insurance 
 

Act 49 states that any constable or deputy constable who fails, neglects or refuses to maintain a current 

insurance policy as required, or to file proof thereof with the clerk of courts, shall cease automatically to be 

certified to perform judicial duties upon the expiration of the policy of which proof has been filed with the 

County Clerk of Courts.  In order to ensure uninterrupted constable certification, it is essential that every 

constable file a new certificate of insurance with the County Clerk of Courts before the current insurance 

policy expires. 

Basic Firearms Enrollment 

 
Program Staff must conduct a criminal history background check on any individual who is interested in 

enrolling in a 40-hour Basic Firearms Course, see Section 431.42 below.  During the 80-hour Basic Training 

Course, the attendee will be asked if they are interested in attending the 40-hour Basic Firearms Course.  If 

so, they will need to complete PCCD Form 214 in its entirety.  The Training Delivery Contractors will 

forward the completed forms to Program Staff and a criminal history check will be performed.  If the 

individual is eligible to attend, their profiles will reflect that they have a valid background check on file and 

they will be eligible to enroll in the 40-hour Basic Firearms Course after they become certified.  If the 

individual is not eligible, they will be notified by Program Staff of their ineligibility to enroll into the 40-

hour Basic Firearms Training Course.   

 

§ 431.42.  Eligibility for firearms qualification. 

A constable holding certification who is 21 years of age or older and who is not precluded under State or 

Federal law from possessing or using a firearm may enroll in a firearms qualification course. 

  



2017 Board Meeting Schedule 

 
The 2017 Constables’ Education and Training Board (CETB) meeting schedule has been finalized and all 

Board meetings will be held at PCCD’s Offices, 3101 N. Front Street, Harrisburg, PA  17110 beginning at 

10:00 a.m.  The 2017 meeting dates are February 9, May 11, August 10 and November 16, 2017.  All CETB 

meetings are open to the public and constables are welcomed and encouraged to attend.   

 

The last 2016 CETB meeting will be held on November 10, 2016 beginning at 10:00 a.m. at PCCD’s 

Offices in Harrisburg. 

 

Lapses in Certifications 
 

If a constable’s or deputy constable’s certification has lapsed more than two years, but less than five years, 

they will be permitted to enroll in continuing education classes only if current professional liability 

insurance is on file with PCCD.  The Constables’ Certification, Education and Training System (CCETS) 

will not allow a constable or deputy constable to enroll in a continuing education class if there is a lapse of 

more than two years in their certification.  This Board Policy has been in effect since January 1, 2011.   

 

If a constable’s or deputy constable’s basic certification has lapsed more than five years, they will need to 

attend and successfully complete the 80-Hour Basic training class.  See Board Regulation, Title 37 Chapter 

431, Section 431.14(b). 

 

If a constable’s or deputy constable’s firearms certification has lapsed more than three years, they will need 

to attend and successfully complete the 40-Hour Basic Firearms training class.  See Board Regulation, Title 

37 Chapter 431, Section 431.48(b). 

 

 

Contact Information at PCCD 
 

        If you have questions regarding certification, insurance, 

          or where to send your election certificate or appointment order. 
 

               THESE ARE NOT CONTACTS FOR CLASS ENROLLMENTS, CANCELLATIONS OR 

TRANSFERS 
 

WESTERN PA:  Armstrong, Allegheny, Beaver, Butler, Cambria, Clarion, Crawford, Elk, Erie, Fayette, 

Forest, Greene, Indiana, Jefferson, Lawrence, Mercer, McKean, Somerset, Venango, Washington, Warren, 

and Westmoreland Counties  
 

Your contact person is:  Wayne Hower, (717) 265-8551, whower@pa.gov 
 

CENTRAL PA:  Adams, Bedford, Blair, Cameron, Centre, Clearfield, Clinton, Cumberland, Dauphin, 

Franklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, Juniata, Lancaster, Lebanon, Lycoming, Mifflin, Montour, Northumberland, 

Perry, Potter, Schuylkill, Snyder, Tioga, Union, and York Counties 
 

Your contact person is:  Tracy Clouser, (717) 265-8552, tracclouse@pa.gov  
 

EASTERN PA:  Berks, Bradford, Bucks, Carbon, Chester, Columbia, Delaware, Lackawanna, Lehigh, 

Luzerne, Monroe, Montgomery, Northampton, Pike, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Wayne, and Wyoming 

Counties 
 

Your contact person is:  Sherry Leffler, (717) 265-8554, sleffler@pa.gov     
 
 

mailto:whower@pa.gov
mailto:tracclouse@pa.gov
mailto:sleffler@pa.gov

