Begin Main Content Area

In the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, there are state level, county level and municipal level police officers. The Pennsylvania State Police (PSP) was created in 1905 and consists of 16 Troops located throughout the Commonwealth. PSP troopers investigate crime and also assist other law enforcement agencies throughout the Commonwealth. There are more than 1,200 municipal police departments, regional police departments and county detective agencies that serve local communities by investigating crimes and filing criminal charges. There are hundreds of thousands of criminal offenses filed by police in Pennsylvania each year. 


Expand AllClick here for a more accessible version